Qld Xmas-in-july Case Swap 2010

Looks like I could be able to get to this event after all, work schedule looks clear at the moment and I should be on time off... :beerbang:

:icon_cheers: CB

Swap list.
1. Chappo - Trappist
3. BribieG - SuperLandlord
4. Bradsbrew. - Imperial Stout
5. PocketBeers - Vanilla Stout methinks
6. Browndog - American Browndog Ale
7. Scruffy - Something with chilli perhaps? Or perhaps just a good strong pale... on the sweet side...
8. kram - I've got 6 months to relearn how to make a beer, so beer it is
9. Stillscottish - Innis and Gunn Knockoff?
10. Winkle - Tootin' Saison (a dark 'regal' saison ~7%)
12. scoundrel_rogue - either a chimay blue knock off or a bavarian wheat. needs tweaking
13. NickB - Beer (maybe)
14. DKS - Budvar
15. geoff_tewierik - Dopplebock.
16. Daemon - Vanilla Porter.
17. Thomas J. - Something wheat or rye?
21.Clean Brewer - Beer(Barleywine?????)
23. Snow - mmmmm....beer....
24. Ross - ????

Attending but not swapping

2. TidalPete
3. Bonj
4. mossyrocks
5. Lilo
6. Sully
7. Ras (depends on what time my meeting ends but might be able to call around saterday afternoon to say Hi and have a beer or 2)

Gotta drop off the list, Got some work training clashing with the dates. :angry:

Gavo.

Looks like I could be able to get to this event after all, work schedule looks clear at the moment and I should be on time off... :beerbang:

:icon_cheers: CB

Does anyone know who this clean brewer guy is? I suspect he might be a K&K guy... :p

Could be easier mate!! :p I havnt had beer on tap for a while now :( but have a full keg gassed ready to drink when I get home, its a bit technical working away and fermenting but I have worked it out now I think :unsure: ..

Love you Chappo...

Im away for 3 weeks this time, money is good though...

Does anyone know who this clean brewer guy is? I suspect he might be a K&K guy... :p

Swap list.
1. Chappo - Trappist
3. BribieG - SuperLandlord
4. Bradsbrew. - Imperial Stout
5. PocketBeers - Vanilla Stout methinks
6. Browndog - American Browndog Ale
7. Scruffy - Something with chilli perhaps? Or perhaps just a good strong pale... on the sweet side...
8. kram - I've got 6 months to relearn how to make a beer, so beer it is
9. Stillscottish - Innis and Gunn Knockoff?
10. Winkle - Tootin' Saison (a dark 'regal' saison ~7%)
12. scoundrel_rogue - either a chimay blue knock off or a bavarian wheat. needs tweaking
13. NickB - Beer (maybe)
14. DKS - Budvar
15. geoff_tewierik - Dopplebock.
16. Daemon - Vanilla Porter.
17. Thomas J. - Something wheat or rye?
21.Clean Brewer - Beer(Barleywine?????)
23. Snow - mmmmm....beer....
24. Ross - ????

Attending but not swapping

2. TidalPete
3. Bonj
4. mossyrocks
5. Lilo
6. Sully
7. Ras (depends on what time my meeting ends but might be able to call around saterday afternoon to say Hi and have a beer or 2)

Gotta drop off the list, Got some work training clashing with the dates. :angry:

Gavo.

Since when did work get a higher thingy?
Brain not working gooder 2day.

come into the city for some drinks this arvo and clear your brain......

Tempting Nick, I'll see how things roll after the shopping trip to Roscos :icon_cheers: .

Doooo iiittttt!

[ insert picture of liver cowering in fear ]

Humor_Liver_Evil_Heather_Gray_Shirt.jpg

My Porter is fermenting away now, so if I get it into bottles soon it'll be a reasonable drop by the time the swap comes around. It's based on the Choc Porter in the DB and will decide if I want to add hazelnut or vanilla (from real vanilla beans) post fermentation. Bugger, I'll have to have a few "samples" to determine what flavours... what a shame. :chug:

I'll also be planning to bring a keg of my Dark Mild, I've nearly perfected it now and it's full of malt flavour at a mere 2.5%. Great for long sessions and a "spacer" in-between 8%+ RIS's, IPA's etc :)

Good to c, my Super Saison will get a running tomorrow using my new friend RAMBO.
(the backyard is about to become very noisy on {sober} weekends)

My Porter is fermenting away now, so if I get it into bottles soon it'll be a reasonable drop by the time the swap comes around. It's based on the Choc Porter in the DB and will decide if I want to add hazelnut or vanilla (from real vanilla beans) post fermentation. Bugger, I'll have to have a few "samples" to determine what flavours... what a shame. :chug:

I'll also be planning to bring a keg of my Dark Mild, I've nearly perfected it now and it's full of malt flavour at a mere 2.5%. Great for long sessions and a "spacer" in-between 8%+ RIS's, IPA's etc :)
Daemon and other Qld swappers,

I'm just about to mash in my Stout. :icon_cheers:

I note your intention to make a vanilla porter.

I was going to chuck a couple of vanilla beans in the cube.

To save over Vanillaing everyone, should I just keep it as a breakky stout?

I tweaked the recipe and am going to chuck in Oats....

You've got a couple of hours people.........or Vanilla goes in. :super:

PB

ive got my drunk monk dark belgian trying to escape the fermenter at the moment, will post pics when i find the camera.

My contribution gets brewed on Tuesday since having a few beers with NickB and then kicking on saw Saturday and Sunday's brewing get scrubbed. <_< Hopefully a saison will get brewed for general drinking purposes as well.

After discussions with the Cook , food menu for the day should be:

Bar snacks-
Fried Lumpia (spring rolls),
Casava crackers and dips,
BBQ'ed chicken wings,
Pinoy pork BBQ's,
snags.

Dinner-
Pancit Canton,
Curry of some hot type,
Pork Adobo,
Rice.

Basic Breakfast

Should be a good one.

My contribution gets brewed on Tuesday since having a few beers with NickB and then kicking on saw Saturday and Sunday's brewing get scrubbed. <_< Hopefully a saison will get brewed for general drinking purposes as well.

After discussions with the Cook , food menu for the day should be:

Bar snacks-
Fried Lumpia (spring rolls),
Casava crackers and dips,
BBQ'ed chicken wings,
Pinoy pork BBQ's,
snags.

Dinner-
Pancit Canton,
Curry of some hot type,
Pork Adobo,
Rice.

Basic Breakfast

Should be a good one.

I hope I can make this one !

I was thinking about my brew for the swap just yesterday. How does everyone feel about a Stone and Wood Draught clone? Or is eeryone already over Galaxy?

Cheers - Snow
Missed this one when I responded the other day, certainly I still like the style. I've brewed it a number of times now and my "Sticks and Stones" recipe is fairly close to the real thing, especially after talking to the brewers during a tour.

Let us know when you want payment to cover the food winkle and we can all start transferring the money when required.

Pocket Beers: Did you end up using vanilla at all? I have hazelnut here that I'm tempted to try instead if that's the case. Will be taking a quick sample from the fermenter once it's complete and testing it with both, whatever I like the best ends up as the final product :)

I won't be doing the Imperial Stout. But will have a 6+% Aussie Old for swaps. My biggest dilema is its ready but do I throw it into secondry with some sanitised oak chips or just bottle it? Decision decisions

With any luck I'll have the throwback mild ready for drinking by then, as well.