2017 SEQ Christmas Case Swap - Tasting thread

And maybe that's the truth of it. There is *some* fault there and the combination with the other phenolics just amplifies it.

But it's also possible I am particularly sensitive to that fault too.
I got heaps of cloves so I it's definitely phenolic, and at the least the shitloads of piperine combined with that could give a similar result.

I was thinking there could be a bit of both, but in my mind the flavour was very similar to a green pepper berry sort of thing - quite peppery and a bit vegetal.

My wife and I discussed it a bit when we had it, and after I explained the flavour / fault descriptors she could see what I was saying but we were both leaning towards pepper intensity rather than chlorophenol fault.

Will be interesting to see what the other guys say.

it was also late hopped with mandarina bavaria at about 4g/l which could have added some spice. I was going for citrus with that
:party:

6 @crowmanz - wild tasmania saison.
Appearance: Solid gold colour. Decent head, that sticks around for several minutes but then has faded to a 0.5 cm persistent ring. Moderate haze, but partially bright. I suspect it would drop clear.
Aroma: Clean smell, with a malty something. Quite pleasant. Low amount of esters I think.
Flavour: Moderate yeast character of I think a clove like flavour, maybe a tiny bit of pepper. Delicious sweetness of malt. no faults I can find. Reminds me of a hefeweizen that has cut back on the banana side. Low bitterness, not sure I can pick up anything from the hops.
Mouthfeel: I'd say medium, but I have been fooled before.
Overall: A super drinkable and delicious beer. I can't state how much I enjoyed this beer. Its got enough esters to keep it interesting, the malt sweetness just seems right, its super drinkable. I've just checked the ABV and I need to slow down, I've drank half of this in 5 minutes or so. It does not feel like a 6.7% beer at all.
Good job. Please let me know what malts you have in this/recipe.

@Randai cheers mate.

Recipe is
80% Barrett Burston Ale Malt
19.6% wheat malt
0.4% Munich malt (got some free wheat malt as there was a stuffed bag at National homebrew that had some Munich mixed in)

24 IBUs Tettnang @ 60min
3 IBUs Hallertauer Trad @ 20min (this was actually added @ 0min before cubing)

Notes say 1.055 OG to 1.004 FG

6.7% wasn't taking into account bottle condition either so a touch higher.

16. Seehuusen Blueberry Hefe

I personally hate the banana ester flavour you typically get in this style but love this take on the beer.

It’s still got a lot of the clove and spice thing going on but you really get the blueberry flavour, almost to the point of being a little tart how fresh blueberries can be.

Excellent head retention. Carbonated well. Hard to fault.

IMG_0869.jpg

@Randai cheers mate.

Recipe is
19.6% wheat malt
0.4% Munich malt (got some free wheat malt as there was a stuffed bag at National homebrew that had some Munich mixed in)

24 IBUs Tettnang @ 60min

Hmm yeah I was wondering if it was BB malt or not. But considering my palate is shit, I thought I'd guess "oh it tastes like domestic/BB malt" and it'd turn out "actually its Himalayan smoked malt".

@Randai cheers mate.

Recipe is
19.6% wheat malt

24 IBUs Tettnang @ 60min

no choc wheat. That's a strike.

4. Bribie Tooth 1950’s XXX

This is excellent. The style is simple and would show fault easily if mistakes were made. Just really great brewing.

IMG_0872.jpg

How do people feel about giving out 3/2/1 points for their top 3 beers based purely on overall impression, and tallying up the totals at the end?

6 @seehuusen - Blueberry hefe
Appearance: Reddish/pink color, big fluffy persistent head. Hazy
Aroma: Tart, sharpish fruit smell. I think a ciderish smell to the nose.
Flavour: Fruity, almost apple cider, bit tart. Mild amounts of banana and cloves.
Mouthfeel: Dryish mouth feel, I think from the fruit that has been some waht fermented out.
Overall: Very refreshing beer. With a balanced keep going back for another sip. Fruit isn't dominating, cloves and banana not dominating.
Personally I like a lot more banana and cloves in my hefeweizens, but this is quite enjoyable.

How do people feel about giving out 3/2/1 points for their top 3 beers based purely on overall impression, and tallying up the totals at the end?

Great idea. I'm shit at describing the finer nuances, but pretty good at determining whether I reckon a brew's hot shit or total shit! (It's the word of the day...) :p

2 (red) madpierre hoppy saison

VERY strong cloves and spice yeast aroma and flavour. We could smell it as soon as the bottle was open. Some good saison funk in there, and a little bit of late hop character as well. All in all a very good beer.

Having tasted this, it's reinforced my opinion that Liam's beer doesn't have medicinal flavours, but just tonnes of pepper from the cube addition and the yeast character.

4 bribie g pornography ale

Exceptionally clear. Pear flavour and aroma strong, perhaps too strong. Not sure what's causing this, yeast stress or ferment temp maybe, or aceteldahyde maybe. Otherwise a good crisp ale.

16 seehusen blueberry hefe

Great colour. Nice pepper on the nose, good balance if fruit malt and bitterness in the glass. Jill said it reminded her of Rodenbach, she's thinking sour whereas I'm thinking tartness from the fruit. Like Parks and my saisons, the fruit tends to generic in these sorts of beers. I couldn't say for sure it was blueberry without having been told. But still, we both enjoyed it heaps.

13. Parks Mango Chilli Saison

If you just said this was a standard saison I would say, great job I enjoyed it! I could smell the chilli and typically you do get lots of fruit esters in a saison, but I couldn’t really get any mango or chilli. Don’t really care for chilli in beer but would have been great to have more mango. Nevertheless it was pretty tasty and didn’t last long enough to get a picture.

16 - Seehusen's blueberry hefe
I did the first pour clean and the second 'mit hefe' for the full effect, & took a photo of each for science. Visually it has a "rosé blush" (thanks to my wife for the correct term) strong foam retention and generally looks like a hefe should. Aroma and flav wise I'm picking up the skins and some very slight acidity from the blueberries but it still definitely screams hefeweizen, with a kind of bready peach/pear/banana combo going on. I've been ******* around with blueberries (post fermentation) in the last week so am familiar with what they bring to a beer, this is subtle but instantly recognisable to me. Delightful beer thanks for sharing it with us man.

567FB6FE-59DA-4091-A88A-7FABE7CF7F9A.jpeg
5E669A65-33FD-4DBF-8BD2-D2EBBB06A21F.jpeg