VIC-Xmas 2016 Case-Swap Recipe (Cocko's place)

Here it is - your tax dollars at work.

[SIZE=12pt]There's an old Australian Homebrewer lying, dying. He gets himself up
onto one elbow and 'e turns to his mates, who are all gathered around and 'e
says:
[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Watch me grain mill crush, Russ
Watch me grain mill crush,
Its not quite right when you rush, Russ
So watch me grain mill crush
[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Altogether now![/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Swap at Kangaroo Ground, Yob
Swap at Kangaroo Ground
Cocko likes tying em down, sport
Vietnamese Rubber all round
[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Martin’s imposing his rule, Curl,
Grainer just thinks he’s a tool
Ah, don't go acting the fool, Curl
Just keep me kegs ‘n’ brew cool
[/SIZE]

Swap at Kangaroo Ground
Cocko makes a strange sound, Technob
When pretty goats run all round
[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Grumpy will always pull out, Mick
Cocko will leave it all in
He lives somewhere out on the track, Mick
Beware some boys never came back
[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Come to Kangaroo Ground, boys
come to Kangaroo Ground.
[/SIZE]

I've been around the world
A couple of times or maybe more
I've seen the sights, I've had delights
On every foreign shore
But when my mates all ask me
The place that I adore
I tell them right away
Give me a home among the gumtrees
With lots of plum trees
A sheep or two, a k-kangaroo
A clothesline out the back
Verandah out the front
And an old rocking chair
You can see me in the shed
Cooking a Roast
Or Vegemite on toast
Just you and me,and a brew or two
And later on, we'll settle down
And go out on the porch
And watch the possums play
There's a Safeways up the corner
And a Woolies down the street
And a brand new place they've opened up

GrumpyPaul said:
Here it is - your tax dollars at work.

[SIZE=12pt]There's an old Australian Homebrewer lying, dying. He gets himself up
onto one elbow and 'e turns to his mates, who are all gathered around and 'e
says:
[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Watch me grain mill crush, Russ
Watch me grain mill crush,
Its not quite right when you rush, Russ
So watch me grain mill crush
[/SIZE]

Swap at Kangaroo Ground
Cocko likes tying em down, sport
Vietnamese Rubber all round
[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Martin’s imposing his rule, Curl,
Grainer just thinks he’s a tool
Ah, don't go acting the fool, Curl
Just keep me kegs ‘n’ brew cool
[/SIZE]

Swap at Kangaroo Ground
Cocko makes a strange sound, Technob
When pretty goats run all round
[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Grumpy will always pull out, Mick
Cocko will leave it all in
He lives somewhere out on the track, Mick
Beware some boys never came back
[/SIZE]

[SIZE=12pt]Come to Kangaroo Ground, boys
come to Kangaroo Ground.
[/SIZE]
SUCH a shame you're not attending, Paul. That deserves a rousing toast!

All good, except I reckon Grainer's a tool....

Brewers Gold .7kg = $28 $25
Hallertau MF .7kg = $33 $30
Styrian G 1kg = $35 $30

Total cost hops - $85 / 24 = $3.55 each approx for single cube
If there's enough I'd also love a hop pack for ze cube.

My brew is coming down to the wire, cold crashing as we speak so will bottle one night this week. FG was 1.010 so should be just about bang on as planned :beer:

Hey Idzy (or anyone else who knows),
Do you remember an estimate for the boil off of your 600L kettle during a big brew?

Also, do you have a rough idea of the gas usage (and the gas usage of the rest of the kettles/HLTs?

technobabble66 said:
Hey Idzy (or anyone else who knows),
Do you remember an estimate for the boil off of your 600L kettle during a big brew?
Not sure. Doesn't really matter to be honest, we just adjust at the end. Too many variables, such as heat of day, heat of burner, etc.

technobabble66 said:
Also, do you have a rough idea of the gas usage (and the gas usage of the rest of the kettles/HLTs?
Don't know about the last brew, as we had a big LPG bottle.

Previously I have brought along 2 9kg ones and usually go home with them mostly empty.

Do you fellas want my 45kg gas bottle for the weekend. It costs about $50 to fill so maybe give me $20.Last swap used about a third/half Your call?
If you want it and Martin doesn't have room I might be able to drop it off during the week. Let me know. Cheers

Just sent a PM for an Equipment list.
If anyone who wants to be part of it didn't get it, let me know and i'll attach you onto it.
Basically all gear needs to be present on the Friday night.

Curly79, yep, definitely looking forward to using your Big Mutha gas bottle! Chat to Martin as to how to get it to Chez Cock.
Last swap, when you say ~1/2 was used, was that all the gas we went through? Or were other bottles used as well?

EDIT: and yeah, MoM, as per the PM just sent, your pots might fill the main outstanding gap that's left, so please do bring them :icon_cheers:

technobabble66 said:
Just sent a PM for an Equipment list.
If anyone who wants to be part of it didn't get it, let me know and i'll attach you onto it.
Basically all gear needs to be present on the Friday night.

Curly79, yep, definitely looking forward to using your Big Mutha gas bottle! Chat to Martin as to how to get it to Chez Cock.
Last swap, when you say ~1/2 was used, was that all the gas we went through? Or were other bottles used as well?

EDIT: and yeah, MoM, as per the PM just sent, your pots might fill the main outstanding gap that's left, so please do bring them :icon_cheers:
It was only used for the Boil mate. You could use it for whatever you like if you have the fittings. I'll chuck in whatever I have fittings wise

idzy said:
Fellas, I have made a few calls, pulled a few favours, spent a few dollars and can confirm that I will be bringing the following gear:
  • Kettle (600 litres) - gas fired
  • White MLT (275 litres) - need to build a manifold manifold built
  • Blue MLT (275 litres)
  • White MLT (155 litres)
  • HLT (180 litres) - gas fired - need to build a stand - SS fittings needed SS fittings all sorted
  • HEX (internal/external element) with 2x STC-1000 - 2x20amp req'd
Idzy
Quick update on this.

Now looks like:
  • Kettle (600 litres) - gas fired
  • White MLT (275 litres)
  • Blue MLT (275 litres)
  • White MLT (155 litres)
  • HLT (180 litres) - need burner and to build a stand
  • HEX (internal/external element) with 2x STC-1000 - 2x20amp req'd
All good apart from stand and burner for the HLT. My cold cut saw needs a new blade, so I will have to try and source this later in the week. We should probably have a backup burner. I believe someone mentioned something?

I will try and jerry something up either way.

I believe Curly79 has a stand that would take a 180L pot. I'll chat to him about it & the big gas bottle at the same time.

Posted this in the 2016 WAYB thread, but here it is for later reference:

Brewed yesterday at the 2016 Vic Xmas Case Swap:

KangaCockoren 12
(a Westy 12 clone, named* after being brewed at Cocko's place in Kangaroo Ground, The host of the Case Swap)

Vol=460L
OG=1.091 (1.076 w/o the D2)
FG=1.015
IBU=32.8
EBC=82.8 (12.8 w/o the D2)
alc=10.3
(resulting efficiency of system was 73%)

100kg (56.3%) Dingemanns Pilsner
50kg (28.2%) Dingemanns Pale
3.5kg (2.0%)Melanoiden

24kg (13.5%) D2 Candi Syrup (to be added mid-fermentation)

500g Brewer's Gold (3.6%) @FWH
150g Magnum (12%) @FWH
500g Brewer's Gold @ 60mins
680g each of Hallertau Mittelfrau (2.6%) & Styrians (2.6%) @20mins (into 21 cubes).

Ideally fermented with WLP-530

Mash vol = ~500L (inc grain vol, guessed as ~70L "dry equivalent", so ~400-430L
Sparge vol = 250L

Only took ~12 hours to brew :blink: :lol:

* name yet to be confirmed by consensus

I'd be keen to hear what the actual OG is with a hydrometer. Measured 1.076 'corrected' with my refractometer, but I reckon it could be 1.071. I don't think it measures linearly. We shall see.
I'll be brewing mine with D2 and a 3787 cake from a patersbier, it'll be interesting to see how this compares to 530 which is allegedly the same strain. I'm going ~22°C 'cause I love those Belgian esters.
Top effort all, I'm considering converting a kid's room to a pool room so this beer has a righteous place to mature.