Imperial/ or Australia stout advice

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hwall95

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm relatively new to brewing, actually just made my sixth batch yesterday (A nice cascade/galaxy IPA which is currently bubbling away).

For some background, my older brother is getting married in 7 months and being the best man, it's my duty to organise his bucks party. So I need to develop a few great recipes for it of course, as nice beer on the beach seems to the favourite option currently. So since I only have 7 months to make the stout, I was just wondering if anyone has any advice on a solid recipe that would age really well within the time period.

Preferably an Australian or imperial stout as we both really enjoy a nice heavy complex stout, but happy for any English or Irish stout if they're better for the time period.

I have made a few coopers kit stout + 1kg of raw sugar with the old man in the past however I always found them to be a plain compared to like Guinness or Coopers for example, and then had horrible head retention...

So any advice on a extract or and k&k stout would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

Also; I would like to thank everyone who has contributed to all the information on this site, as over the last two months I have learnt so much just from reading, so cheers!

Hey mate,

Ive done a few kit stouts and they usually turn out pretty good. First step is to get away from the kg of sugar and use malt extract. Big difference taste wise.
Recipe I done last stout was

1 can Mangrove Jacks Irish Stout
1.5kg dark lme
0.2kg chocolate Grain Steeped in 70 degs for 20mins
14g fuggles in 30 min boil
Weast 1084 Irish Ale.

Had a few of them after 4ish weeks in the bottle and v happy with them,

On another note;