My Mate Is The Train Door Man

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bribie G

Adjunct Professor
Reaction score
Gotta share this: Had a massive surprise today - you may know that I work in a large inbound Customer Service centre for VHA (Vodafone Hutchison Australia) and there's a guy about my age I've been working with for a few years and we are buddies in a work sense but nothing social. He has the most rich dark brown Shakespearian voice, and I ended up sitting next to him. His name's Will.

Now all Brisbanites will know that before the doors close on trains here, there is an announcement "Doors closing, please stand clear". And I said "Will, do you know you sound exactly like a train door about to close" :p "Yup, that's me" :eek: It was a gig he did about 12 years ago but since then he is in lifts in hospitals all over the country, and was recently flown down to Qantas and will be one of the voices on the Airbus 380s etc. I'm green with envy, but you just have to hear this guy, it's like swimming in an ocean of oatmeal stout :rolleyes: He's quite a private guy and doesn't talk much about his moonlighting job as Mr Rentavoice.

Will, coming to a lift, train or plane near you soon :icon_cheers:

And no he doesn't get a royalty every time the train door closes. Hahahah

Hey Bribie, do you think he could do a piece for the swap? Got a script ready to go:

'... the swap beer standing in TidalPete's wooden box will shortly be departing for a milkcrate'

Get him to record a few sound files on your phone.
eg, "Bribie's got a new sms. Shit yeah."