How Big Is The Improvement?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hando

Reaction score
Hi there,

I wanted to start a discussion on improvements that one can make to the standard k&k with supplied yeast. I have been brewing for 18 months now and have experimented a little with using:
  • liquid yeast
  • boiling the kit ingedients
  • going for better quality ingredients
  • using a water filter
  • controlling the fermentation temperature (fridge)
  • adding hops
How would you rate the improvements which I have listed, based on their benefit to the finished product? I have found liquid yeast 15% better, temp controlled ferment 10% better

Is there any other cost effective ways that a home brewer can improve the beers? What do you think about racking into a secondary fermenter? How much improvement will that bring?

Cheers Hando

I haven't the experience to comment on a lot of those, but in my opinion temp control makes a lot more difference than 10%. When I first started brewing half of what I produced was undrinkable, 1/4 just drinkable, and 1/4 quite tastey - I also happen to have started brewing in summer, and on the coast as well, so I was pushing 30-40C in those months, and all the undrinkable ones were brewed in this period (its a wonder I stuck with it :p)...With temperature control all my beers I'm guessing would have been of the tastey variety, since the flavour's that made most of them undrinkable were sulfurs and such which are attributed to fermentation temp - and I'm fairly pendantic with sanitisation so I'm thinking that wasn't the cause - at least it was very unlikely to be. Since I have had temp control everyone of my beers has been muchly enjoyed.