First crack at BIAB

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Edd

Reaction score
Its fair to say that I am a complete novice to this homebrew scene, I mean I love ale and the vast majority of craft beers but never considered to make it myself. Until now! I read a few (in fact many, including the 'How to Brew' bible by John Palmer) articles and decided to bypass kits/extract and go straight for BIAB. My first attempt is sitting in the fridge under temp control and it looks like the ferment is just about to kick off in earnest, bubbles starting to form in airlock. I just want to run through my first attempt and get you more experienced brewers to point out any improvement areas/ glaring errors! Cheers!

Followed recipe for an American Pale ale from Cleverbrew.

Cleaned and sanitised equipment and fermenter.
Heated 25 litres water to 72C to achieve mash temp of 64C after grain addition, killed the heat.
Added grain and stirred well to remove clumps, took temp at 65C, placed lid on pan and wrapped in towels.
Checked every 15 mins to test temp, only dropped 3C over the hour.
Removed bag and drained into wort.
Added 6 litres boiled water (These would not fit in kettle to begin with so decided to boil reminder on the side and add after removal of grains to bring full water requirements up to speed)
Brought to boil, with a very early hot break, and added hops as per recipe stages.
Put kettle in ice bath (then sat on top step of pool to bring temp down) took about 1.5 hrs to chill to 23C.
Added to fermenter (21 litres in total out of an expected 23), aerated the wort, took hydrometer reading of 1.046 and pitched the yeast.
Added sterilised water to airlock and am fermenting at approx 18C under temp control.
I think it's just about starting to show signs of life now.