Another wild yeast fermentation

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TimT

Reaction score
Putting down a pale the other day I thought I'd also try to start a wild yeast fermentation from the peel of one of our apples. I set aside a bit of wort in a jar I'd just boiled and chucked some fresh apple peel in.

It took three days but it's definitely started fermentation. Looks respectable enough (ie, can't see signs of a bacterial fermentation - no kahm yeast or lacto-bacilli web, etc - just some froth/bubbles on top indicating a yeast is making CO2).

Since I've never done this before I'm suddenly not sure what I should do, so I thought I'd field some questions. My aim is to cultivate the wild yeast and pitch it into another ale, maybe an experimental 2.5 litre batch, possibly a light beer.

- It's in a sealed jar at the moment. Obviously this is not tenable if I want to encourage it to get to full strength. Open the lid and risk stuff getting in? I could pitch it at the bottom of a demijohn but that's a lot of oxygen to a very little bit of yeast.

- Should I slow the yeast down by putting the jar in the fridge?

- Wait until it's at full strength before pitching it into another beer? Or not bother waiting?

(Thought I'd start up a new thread rather than revive an old one).

I've risked opening the jar lid - probably a good thing; there was the sound of gas escaping and I caught a whiff of it too. Sulfury, a bit like chickpeas actually.

So wild yeast lives on apple skins? And other fruit too? Cool of you could capture your own strain..