Suggestions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seanokil

Reaction score
Hi all
Im relatively new to brewing,
Just bought a thomas coopers draught, from my local in boronia.
I was wondering what i can do to enhance the flavour. Hops , etc
Should i use the supplied yeast of ditch it and get something better?
Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
Cheers
Seano

Hey Seano,

Your kit beers can be improved or well made in a variety of ways. A good brand name yeast is a start. Depending on the type of beer you want to make!

With Thomas Coopers draught, you could buy some light liquid malt extract (1.5kgs) or a 1kg bag of light dry malt extract, do a boil with chinook and cascade hops and you should get something vaguely similar to Little Creatures Pale Ale. Ferment with Safale US-05 yeast (the red packet) at around 18 C. If you are not sure how to do a boil and use hops effectively, just have a search on this forum or Google how to add hops to your beer.

Other than that, make sure your ferment temps are STEADY and keep it around 18 C to 20 C for most ales and around 10 C for lagers.

Always remember about sanitation!

You want to get the basics down before experimenting too much, but temperature control and yeast are a great place to start!

Good luck and welcome to the forum.

What Pony said: Temperature control will make or break a beer. You can even get away with a drinkable ale using the supplied yeast - the bad rep is often due to it being stale, or fermenting too high.

Ignore the instructions on the can. Seriously, unless they have changed it since I last saw a can (admittedly many years ago), the information is wrong. ESPECIALLY about temperature.

Avoid adding one kg of sugar, sub most of it with light dry malt extract.