First brew - Coopers Australian Pale Ale

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SoreNEIPAs

Reaction score
Hi - love browsing the site as I’m a newbie and the expertise here is *chefs kiss*

I think I may have done something silly and looking for advice!

Starting with a real basic kit (Coopers Australian Pale Ale) and got a bit carried away by adding 50g of Galaxy hops to the fermenter on day 4 (literally just dropped the pellets in thinking I was a dry hopping pro 😬). Question is, should I expect a monstrosity or just a very bland beer with the smell of hops without any real punch (also could be considered a monstrosity).

I am reading heaps about boiling the wort and adding bittering hops before pitching the yeast, which I will have a crack at next time..my excitement just got the better of me this time

OK, you are having a little bit of confusion between brewing with a kit of extract, and brewing All Grain from scratch.

When brewing with a kit as you have done here, the mashing of the malts (grain) and boiling of the wort has been done for you by the kit brewer. The tin you buy is in fact the concentrated product. Usually it will also already have hops added, unless you are using a tin of unhopped extract. You have exactly done what you thought, that is dry hopping, by dropping the 50 gr of Galaxy into your fermenter. I've not used Galaxy for some years, so can't really remember how mine turned out, but whatever, you will have a tasty brew. Don't fret, and carry on, you have not created a disaster.