scon
They look delish. What wood did you smoke them with? Hickory?
Yeah, hickory, they were damn tasty. I'll follow your advice next time & brine longer & leave them out in the fridge for a while to dry out the skin.scon said:They look delish. What wood did you smoke them with? Hickory?
Well I had to pitch in $105 of my own hard earned pocket money to get it but yes I guess I am well loved.browndog said:WOW Punkal, you must be well loved.
How large was the shoulder? Mine was about 4kg and took 15 hours. It hits that stall and takes a long time from then.Seaquebrew said:No worries
My smoker has been going since early this morning with a pork shoulder in it
Smells good
I wouldn't use fire lighters, personally. Only ever wood kindling and paper.Seaquebrew said:Light charcoal using fire lighters, add wood chips for smoke
Start with a few first, add as required
I'm no guru but I wouldn't get in the habit of cooking that long of time for that low of temp, correct me if I'm wrong but that's prime nasty bug breeding temp range??? Only being concerned with the snags of course and if u have an easily upset stomach.menoetes said:Cheers Seaquebrew,
I've soaked the chips in water and added them directly to the hot charcoals. also put some in a smoker tray and dropped that on top just for good measure.
I'm planning to cooked the bacon, woolworths beef sausages and some marinated chicken wings that were on special for 2 hours at 71'c (165'f). I'm hoping that'll be long enough.
Right now I'm just fiddling with the oxygen intake trying to get my temp right
I use the white redhead fire lighters for my wood heater and they definitely smell like kerosene when first lit up. Smell does disappear quickly though. They work a shitload better then the cheaper bunnings brand ones.Seaquebrew said:Understand your reluctance
Redhead lighters don't give off any odours
Never use self lighting heat beads, they are just plain funky
Enter your email address to join: