Short Final Gravity

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarkV

Reaction score
G'Day brewers, I don't often write on on this forum but I have an issue that I would really appreciate some advice on. I've been brewing for several years now on my brew in a basket set up. I brew around 43 litre batches and most of my brews are between 1.050 and 1.070. I am using Brewfather for recipe building. Through the years I have used a plastic 60 L fermenter for a couple of years then progressed to a Fermemter king 60 L unitank and now for the first time I'm using a SS brewteck 50 L Cronical. I use the software in Brewfather to calculate my pitching rate. I've also used Beersmith and the yeast sites for calculations.
So the problem I always seem to have is my final finishing gravity is always short between 4-10 gravity points. I have a NEIPA fermenting at the moment the OG into fermenter was 1.068 and its has stopped after 9 days at 1.024. The target finishing gravity is 1.010. I used Lallemand Verdent IPA yeast and as said before I used the pitching calculator and did a starter from 2 packs. The target pitch was 729 billion cells and after my starter was ready 739 billion cells was pitched. I also Oxygenate with Oxygen. I started fermentation at 19C and ramped it up to 20C on day 5. The reading of 1.024 was taken on day 5 and again it was still1.024 on day 9. I'm not sure what else I can do? Any and all suggestions or possible solutions is much appreciated.

The obvious first place to look is your mash temperature. If you mash too hot (we are only talking a couple of degrees) you will make more unfermentable dextrins and no matter how good your yeast pitch and preparation is it won’t ferment down as far as you want.