Boil-off rate calculator

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alex Helbig

Reaction score
HI All. I was wondering if anyone knows of a boil off rate calculator that takes ambient temperature and humidity into account?

I've been using BeerSmith for quite a few years now to calculate water volumes and it has generally had me in the right zone. Two weeks ago I had an usually high rate of boil-off in a 60 minute boil - volume reduced from 28.5 down to 25L. Normally I would boil off about half of that volume. After cooling shrinkage I ended up with a much smaller batch than expected which messed up my numbers. I decided to top up with some boiled water to hit my target volume and gravity. It was a fairly typical Queensland winter day - dry and about 20°C; humidity might have been about 20%.

Before I kick off my next brew, I was thinking that I should adjust my volumes based on temperature and humidly. Is that worthwhile, or a waste of time?

Cheers
Ejek.

It's okay to have to make adjustments on the fly. I would rather have to dilute to reach a lower gravity than boil longer than planned to hit a higher one.

Am interested to hear experiences around this, as I've also found variable boil-off, where 18-19L pre-boil (hot) can lose between 2.8-3.5 L/hour. I'm sure there's maths around humidity, ambient temperature, and air flow, as well as volume of wort and volume of boiling vessel coming into play.

My only experience was due to stupidity. Did a stovetop BIAB at a mate's place, boiling away but volume wouldn't reduce. Eventually noticed condensation running down the wall some distance away 💡.

Opened a couple of windows and suddenly the volume started reducing. The beer wasn't very good, but did have some nice caramel/toffee flavours from the extended boil time.