Reusing A Yeastcake

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spudfarmerboy

Reaction score
Happy new year to all AHB'ers,
Tomorrow I will be brewing a Dr Smurtos Golden Ale. I already have one in the fermenter that is ready to be kegged. I am thinking I will brew and then drop the wort from the kettle into the drained fermenter, with the yeast cake still in there.
Is this a good idea or not, is it worth worrying about when using a dry yeast like S05 that costs about $4.50?
If it is a good idea, when the fermenter is drained of beer, is there anything that should be done to the yeast cake? Is there a need to get the fresh wort onto the yeast cake pronto or not. If there is a time gap between emptying the fermenter of beer and filling the fermenter with fresh wort, how should the yeast cake be stored?
I have never done this before and thought if I have a good, viable yeast cake, it may get the fermentation off to a flying start.
One more thing, the fermenter is crash chilling, would the yeast cake need to be brought back up to around the 20 degree mark before dumping the fresh wort in?
Thank You

I think that pitching onto yeast cake is overpitching.
I do reuse US05 though, following the ballpark rule of 1/2 a cup of slurry for ales and 1 cup for lagers - 23L batch
I swish all my remaining beer and trub around then pour into sanitised jug, cover and let the trub settle out
over 30mins or so then pour of the yeast into clean jar and reuse within a few weeks - stored in fridge

Its always a good idea to have your yeast at the same temp as the brew your putting it in.

Happy new year to all AHB'ers,