What are you brewing 2024

clickeral

Guess i'll kick this one off with a Kentucky Common done on my 3v (70L MLT and 170L dished kettle)

66L cubed in ex golden syrup cubes

https://share.brewfather.app/bSVskkTCTrSXeY
65C mash for 90mins

Using up some base malt so 53.2% of any pale malt is fine

28.1% Voyager Craft Malt VELORIA Schooner — Grain — 8 EBC
18.1% Simpsons Pale Ale Golden Promise — Grain — 5 EBC
7% Voyager Craft Malt PALE Schooner — Grain — 5 EBC

22% Gladfield Malt Gladfield Malted Maize — Grain — 3.1 EBC
6.3% Simpsons Crystal Light — Grain — 104 EBC
6.3% Voyager Craft Malt MUNICH Schooner — Grain — 17 EBC
6.3% Weyermann Rye Malt — Grain — 5.9 EBC
4% Barrett Burston Wheat Malt — Grain — 3 EBC
1.9% Weyermann Carafa Special III — Grain — 1400 EBC

Nugget at first wort to 16IBU
Cluster at 20 to 8IBU

Will probably use US05 for this at 18C until its done

Am upto 17x11L cubes that I need to start fermenting esp as I am getting another 2 tomorrow from a collab brew

Attachments

• 413145830_753533366638998_3703565054919188574_n.jpg
    413145830_753533366638998_3703565054919188574_n.jpg
    65.3 KB · Views: 0
  • 414490452_1087041122563836_8288924007441966530_n.jpg
    414490452_1087041122563836_8288924007441966530_n.jpg
    276 KB · Views: 0
  • 414966707_1544024976140343_1170857245952572545_n.jpg
    414966707_1544024976140343_1170857245952572545_n.jpg
    68.2 KB · Views: 0
  • 414587922_569720452033241_2335032779379257576_n.jpg
    414587922_569720452033241_2335032779379257576_n.jpg
    167 KB · Views: 0
  • 414669530_847862043747787_4631286954744320388_n.jpg
    414669530_847862043747787_4631286954744320388_n.jpg
    221.3 KB · Views: 0
Never tried a Kentucky common, dont even know what it's supposed to taste like, but I'm going to remedy that over the next couple of weeks (might even steal your recipe) for the simple reason that I've been using CML (a Scottish company) Kentucky yeast in my light ales and it's frankly amazing for fast fermentation and crystal clarity.
In general, as its still winter he on sunny Brittany, I'll be carrying on with the lagers. Got a new yeast to try White Labs German-X, which everyone is raving about, so it's about time I got on with it.

Edit.
Nope, I can't use your recipe as, so far as I know, Gladfield is the only malster in the world that does malted maize and postage to France from N Z is a bit steep.

Never tried a Kentucky common, dont even know what it's supposed to taste like, but I'm going to remedy that over the next couple of weeks (might even steal your recipe) for the simple reason that I've been using CML (a Scottish company) Kentucky yeast in my light ales and it's frankly amazing for fast fermentation and crystal clarity.
In general, as its still winter he on sunny Brittany, I'll be carrying on with the lagers. Got a new yeast to try White Labs German-X, which everyone is raving about, so it's about time I got on with it.

Edit.
Nope, I can't use your recipe as, so far as I know, Gladfield is the only malster in the world that does malted maize and postage to France from N Z is a bit steep.
Flaked corn, flaked maize, instant polenta etc are all good substitutes can even use cornflakes in a pinch but got to watch the salt

Had two attempts at Coopers Sparkling, first was a miserable failure, tried Morgan's yeast believing that as Coopers owned Morgan's it could be related? Wrong.
The second attempt harvested yeast from Coopers Pale Ale, (thanks Mark) what a cracker this beer is. I have enjoyed Coopers Sparkling for many years. Forget Redback, and Blue Tongue who sold out, Coopers is still the premier Australian bench mark for a satisfying beer.
No pretense, just a fair dinkum Aussie beer. Not many beers have a, 'before after date' and not many beers can get a double whammy of incorporating the lees to enhance the flavour.
For mine colour is a bit darker, I added a handful of SM40 to the mash but taste-wise it is as close as I could hope to get.
IMG_0705.JPG

Swirling the dregs and adding the lees.
IMG_0708.JPG

Nice one weal.
I won't be brewing for the next 3 weeks or so, as I'm about to go on a road trip from Brissie to Sydney, to catch up with relatives and friends and relatives up and down the coast.
Once I'm back, I'll be brewing a small batch of Pilsner with the Urquell yeast, and harvest the yeast from that for a full batch.

I brew at least one of these every year. Australian brewers are very fortunate imho to have the coopers yeast available at the local bottle-o for the price of a couple of bottles.
I would like to know what temperature Coopers ferment at, high-end or low? My gut feeling is the higher end because of the flavour the yeast brings to the beer. May try a Coopers Pale next though my choice is the Sparkling out of the two.

I have been favouring 17° since I was told that is the brewery temperature. In my experience it’s all about banana once it goes beyond 20°. 17°-19° is where I like to keep it for the first few days.

Isn’t the coopers bottle carbonating yeast intentionally different to the actual yeast they ferment with?

Friday I brewed a dry Irish Stout
Single volume, no sparge. 21 litres into fermenter.
OG 1,043 FG 1,011 ABV 4.2 IBU 43.7 SRM 37.1 Mash pH 5.4

4.5 kg Veloria Schooner.
0.50 kg Flaked Barley.
0.050 kg Roast Barley.
0.250 kg Chocolate Malt Late mash tun addition
0.250 kg J. Whites Dark Crystal Late mash tun addition
0.150 kg Simpsons Black Malt Late mash tun addition
Mash @ 62C . Water treatment 5 g Calcium Chloride and 1 gram Lactic Acid

34 litres of water.- Base malts
IMG_0686.JPG IMG_0687.JPG

Mash temp throughout the grain basket kept around 62C. - At mash out temp add the none fermentable grains are added.
IMG_0688.JPGIMG_0691.JPG

The big squeeze 20 litres of water and a full gas bottle - Going into the boil about 31 litres.

IMG_0692.JPGIMG_0694.JPG

Overshot my OG by 6 points and got 22 litres into fermenter
IMG_0697.JPG

This year I’ve brewed
Munich Helles 22L5.5%
Belgian Blonde 12 L6.2%
Moose Drool Brown Ale 22 L5.0%
Erdinger 22 L. 5.5%
Kwak 12 L. 8.4%
Sierra Nevada 22 L 5.5%

Yesterday I made 20 L of Leffe Blonde
4100g Crisp Pilsner malt
500g Munich malt
500g Flaked Maize
100g Golder Syrup
200g Dextrose
EKG & Saaz hops
CML Belgian yeast
OG 1062 hoping for an ABV 6.8%

As a nod to Timothy Taylor Landlord brewed Nancy Naylor Landlady, 12 days in the bottle and not turning out too bad. Be a difficult one to replicate without the yeast strain used. I am starting to feel that when cloning a beer there is a relationship between the hops and the yeast. Or is it the grist used and the yeast?
IMG_0781.JPG