Vic Xmas Case Swap 2010

Unfortunately the beer in my fermenter wasn't up to par (left too long - lacto infection) and although drinkable - not too bad actualy / also not too good... and due to haveing recently goten a full time job (started working for a distilery 3 weeks ago) haven't had time to brew of late (let alone bottle) i'm going to change my name to a non swap atende. sorry for the late notice.

Hi All

PM sent out with address and details etc.

If you are planing on attending and did not get it, them let me know.

Only 5 more sleeps ... hmmm maybe I should start thinking about getting the beer into bottles now.

Down to 19 swappers then...

Can't wait, I can already taste the spit :kooi:

And it's decided, Irish Red is to be the swap beer (the Aussie lager didn't last long on the weekend lol)

Damn Leigh, you're IR better not be too good... I'm worried about everyone having grounds for comparison now.

I'll be bottling on Friday... wanna give it as much time as possible to condition/carb in the keg. I could even leave it until Saturday Morning, I suppose.

In the way of food, do we wanna sort out who's bringing what so that we don't double up. ie. everyone bringing chips/dips.

I'm happy to grab a selection of nice dips and some crackers etc. maybe some cheese

... hmmm maybe I should start thinking about getting the beer into bottles now.
Mine only just got into the bottles last night due to a hectic week. Currently sitting in my fermenting fridge at a nice, toasty 21 degrees.

Will be putting advice on the label to leave it for at least another week or two after the swap date.

I know its *really* poor form to pull out at such late notice, but I sort of forgot about this until recently and haven't had a chance to brew in months. I've updated the Wiki accordingly.

sap.

...and then there were 18...my partner is gonna be happy, as she really liked the half pot sample of Irish Red I gave her...

..and sap, I've brewed your variation on the Better Red than Dead recipe, so you will still be there in spirit ;)

just thought i`d give this a bump.
18?

just thought i`d give this a bump.
18?

I must say, after my first case swap experience, xmas in july this year at Fents', this swap seems to be lacking some enthusiasm to say the least. That list for the july swap was full within a day and the thread ran hotter than a non controlled yeast cake pitching!

I am not sure if it has to do with all the early talk, by what would seem to be the elitist members - not starting anything by all means but, may have caused other younger/less experienced brewers to holding out on what is a great experience - even if not attending the day having 27 [17 now] other brewers beers to taste, the recipes to look at of what you are drinking and the feedback on your own... I am confused how this swap is not full, understanding the time of year is busy for all but being a 'swapper' doesn't mean you must be at the day, even tho it is a great day from my one experience - heaps of other brewers beers and food and talking brewing.. doesn't get much better!

So be it K&K, Partial or AG - be a part of it!

Any other members who aren't in ATM got a mere 18 tallies of a brew they believe represents where they at in their brewing that wants in?

Anyway, sorry for the ramble, just 4c worth.

i always have said THIS swap was way too close too the LAST swap. Swappers hadnt finished July then this was upon us.
No idea about elitist comments, that sort of rubbish always gets bought up. Yet never holds any mileage. Shitstirring I call it and I love it. Stick around for a few swaps and see who was who did and who doesnt.
People are busy with families life work, Xmas is fast approaching.
The Xmas swap is bad timing no doubt given, Vicbrew,AABC,ANHC. So no wonder.. not much interest.
For me,Its a tad disapointing people can pull out their beer with less than 10 days to go and say they forgot.
Maybe more elitist comments would attract the elite? Tongue in cheek

i always have said THIS swap was way too close too the LAST swap. Swappers hadnt finished July then this was upon us.

For me, Its a tad disapointing people can pull out their beer with less than 10 days to go and say they forgot.

Agreed and Agreed more!... As you say Haysie, given the lead time.. now less than a week to go..

Still, with so many active members you would think 28 is a very small number to muster...

Anyway, I am out - my beer is way too good for this shit! ;) :lol: ALL JOKES!!!

Come on people, we're not talking sheep stations here!

Agreed and Agreed more!... As you say Haysie, given the lead time.. now less than a week to go..

Still, with so many active members you would think 28 is a very small number to muster...

Anyway, I am out - my beer is way too good for this shit! ;) :lol: ALL JOKES!!!

Come on people, we're not talking sheep stations here!

Sheep, Sheep? Where?
Chris............. Chris..... Where?
chris_tails.jpg

Are you force carbing? You must have your method down pat to risk it like that..

Yeah, sort of force carbing. I'm borrowing a CPBF from Brendo. Just need to sort out a pickup time.

Excuse my ignorance on CPF'ing.... but isn't a CPF for bottling carbonated beer into a bottle from a keg and ensure it stays carbed?

Or, do you fill bottles with flat beer and it is instantly carbonated?

Don't know, just askin... but I thought the earlier.

Excuse my ignorance on CPF'ing.... but isn't a CPF for bottling carbonated beer into a bottle from a keg and ensure it stays carbed?

Or, do you fill bottles with flat beer and it is instantly carbonated?

Don't know, just askin... but I thought the earlier.

The earlier mate. Its carbed. you bottle it at that pressure..

I must say, after my first case swap experience, xmas in july this year at Fents', this swap seems to be lacking some enthusiasm to say the least. That list for the july swap was full within a day and the thread ran hotter than a non controlled yeast cake pitching!

I am not sure if it has to do with all the early talk, by what would seem to be the elitist members - not starting anything by all means but, may have caused other younger/less experienced brewers to holding out on what is a great experience - even if not attending the day having 27 [17 now] other brewers beers to taste, the recipes to look at of what you are drinking and the feedback on your own... I am confused how this swap is not full, understanding the time of year is busy for all but being a 'swapper' doesn't mean you must be at the day, even tho it is a great day from my one experience - heaps of other brewers beers and food and talking brewing.. doesn't get much better!

So be it K&K, Partial or AG - be a part of it!

Any other members who aren't in ATM got a mere 18 tallies of a brew they believe represents where they at in their brewing that wants in?

Anyway, sorry for the ramble, just 4c worth.

I think it's time of year as much as anything else - things get busy for a lot of people around Nov/Dec - with work, family, study etc. I know that's my one and only reason for not swapping OR attending this time around. I've only been to 2 but the last (July) was full) whereas the one before (Dec) was a bit less so with some late dropouts. I'll be in the next for sure.

If people are scared then they should harden up, brew some beer and get in on it. Loads of fun and you get to try other people's beer and get them to try some of yours. Best efforts appreciated but beyond that, the formality is not so great.

Sheep, Sheep? Where?
Chris............. Chris..... Where?
View attachment 42188

Chris ... Chris ... Where? is trying to finalise landing a job after 3 1/2 months of not having a job

But all that aside, 5-10-20 people, does it really come down to how many turn up on the day!

Beer will be drunk, fun will be had, brewers will talk a lot of shit. If this sounds like a good day to you then turn up and enjoy.

Probably a bit late to spruik up the swap at this stage. 18 is a good manageable number imo, a good mix of styles, and it is coming up to prime beer drinking weather.

I am expecting a few more "non-swap" attendees to turn up on the day.

I'll be bottling on Friday... wanna give it as much time as possible to condition/carb in the keg. I could even leave it until Saturday Morning, I suppose.

In the way of food, do we wanna sort out who's bringing what so that we don't double up. ie. everyone bringing chips/dips.

I'm happy to grab a selection of nice dips and some crackers etc. maybe some cheese

This is good in theory, but requires someone to actually do some organisation :) ... which I do not have time for.

Just bring something you would eat and enough to share around a bit. That way at least one person is going to eat it :p