understanding RA

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arctic78

Reaction score
Ok first of all i still have a lot of reading to do to try and start understanding all this water adjustment jargon and how it works.
I am just looking if someone can let me know if i am on the right track. I am no scientist

So far from what i have been reading the alkalinity of the water is what affects things most and getting the RA of the water is a good place to start so i can make adjustments for my mash pH . Is this correct??? Or am i totally of track.

I am getting that hard water is not bad ( for certain styles ) but i need to know the RA of my water so i can adjust it correctly for light or dark style beers. I also understand that darker beers have more effect on lowering the pH due to more acidity but how much of an effect will this have?

The other thing that i need to get a good grasp on , I think, is the buffering effect ??

Like i said this is all new to me and understanding it all will help me more but is this a good starting point ??
Other things like flavor from certain additions etc. are much further down the track for me
At the moment i just want to improve my beer flavor,clarity,head retention and efficiency by improving my water.
I know there are many other things that affect all these also.

Any comments / help to point me in the right direction is much appreciated .

I have ordered the water book so should have it soon. I've been reading bru'n water's water knowledge to start with as this was recommended to me.
It is a lot to take in so i am trying to find where best to start and what is most important to start with and understand.

Calcium additions.. I've only a basic understanding myself, bit enough to get in the 5.2 ball park most days.. Good enough for me.