Beginner questions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rfox

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to brewing, I have been gathering information for a few weeks now.
The issue is, all the recipes and video tutorials I find don't go into much detail. They are catered to experienced brewers more than beginners leaving me with holes in my knowledge.

I have a couple questions.
Do I need a ph stabilizer, and if so what part of the brewing process do I add it? Do I add it at the same time as I am building the water profile from distilled water?

Are there any recipes for hazy ipa that cover every little step including building water profile?

Thanks for reading

You dont say whether you are brewing with grain or extract, or if you have brewed a few already. Yes you can make better beer if you do manage the pH but you can make good beer without worrying too much about pH. Focus on ensuring your water quality is reasonable (remove the chlorine/chloramine if you can) and temperature control for the ferment and enjoy the product. Continue to do the research (John Palmer is a great start).

Not everybody will think this way but for my money - do you need a pH stabiliser as a beginner brewer, in my opinion no. Do you need to sweat over your water profile as a beginner brewer, in my opinion no. When you have your process down pat and you are making consistent beer and you have a few brews under your belt, then make a concious bid for correct pH and understanding the impact of water profile and appreciate the impact it has on the beer (it is noticeable).

Alex

Hi,
I'm new to brewing,

I have a couple questions.
Do I need a ph stabilizer, and if so what part of the brewing process do I add it? Do I add it at the same time as I am building the water profile from distilled water?