the secret to better beer?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mhay

Reaction score
Hi all great site been reading for ages but logon and and android browser issues have prevented me posting (Probably questions i should have searched for anyway)

I've been brewing partial and a few all grains For a few years now but seem to have reached a wall. All my beers seem to taste fairly similar in quality. I love big hoppy Beers, Right now i have a stone and wood clone ready to bottle but it's not close to the taste I'd expect, Same thing seems to happens every time i Try a clone. I read other people's experience with the same recipe and they seem happy?

My process is usually, For partial dump (adding steeped grains if required), Stir, ferment. Then either rack and dry hop or chuck in hops for last few days plus a few more while fermentating. And bottle.

All grain i use a keg for brew pot, esky for mash tun and don't have chiller.

I mostly dry hop,

Never really get big hoppy aroma (Put 30g of galaxy in this time and just don't get that fruity passionfruit at all)

I've only just had my first bad batch from one that i brewed with practically no added sugar just pulped mangos. Tasted ok after fermentation but has gone sour in the bottle which i bulk primed with a brew enhancer sugar mix.

I am wondering if, Co2 Coming off primary fermentation is destroying aroma and also during carbonation? Sometimes it's fantastic before I bottle and bland after.

Another thought i had was something to do with oxyogenating the beer too much when i go from fermentation or rack to bulk prime and splashing into bottles?