exploding bottles - 1st time in 20 years of brewing

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RobboMC

Reaction score
As the heading says, I've been brewing for 20 years, started with dump and stir kits
and now brew about 50/50 grain and extract. I've been bulk priming for a decade or more.

Last Xmas I bottled a Dark Ale and extract beer ( my kids bought it for Father's Day so I had to brew it up )
and about 8-10 weeks after bottling the bottles started exploding.

Luckily I managed to open all the 330 ml bottles into a bucket, most were like fire extinguishers when opened,
such was the excess carbonation. The beer that I did get to drink ( before the bombs went off ) was excellent given the ingredients.

The OG was 1075, at Day 9 the gravity was 1031; bottled on Day 20 at 1029. Bulk primed with 6 g/l of dextrose powder.

Now, 8 month later, my lady has given me an ultimatum, brew decent beer or she's leaving!

So I am brewing again.

The burning question remains, what went wrong??

I don't usually use this much dry malt,
I did go through a period of years using Coopers Brew Enhancers

Any ideas to guide me, for now it's back to basics and make no mistakes.

The dark ale recipe looked like this:

Coopers Dark Ale kit
1 kg Country Brewer Dry dark malt
1 kg Country BrewerAmber Brew Booster package
1.5 kg Dark Crystal/ Brown grain, held at 65 deg C for 45 min, then boiled
with 60g of Fuggles hops for 10-12 min

I don't know which nor how much yeast you used, but to have a drop from 1.075 to 1.031 is an Apparent Attenuation of only about 59%, which seems vey low to me.
This leads me to guess you probably underpitched and the yeast slowed down before fully fermenting to its potential.
Your FG of 1.031 is much higher than anything I've ever bottled at.