Stalled fermentation

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattymcfatty

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I brewed a coopers ipa kit with 1 kg ldme and 600gm of dextrose in 21 litres and according to IanH's spreadsheet the prediction was og 1.053 fg 1.011
My og was 1.051 but it's only made it down to 1.020 and has been at that point for about a week now...ive given the fermenter a few swirls and it's not budging....the second day was very vigorous and visually active but now I'm concerned the yeast has finished it's work. I put it down 10 days ago....can I get some advice as I'm a panicking noob!!

edit: I used the kit yeast and temp has ranged between 26 and 20

1020 is definitely a bit high for a FG.

Kit yeast is often too little (5g) instead of 11-20g. As you have probably read as well, the storage and health is more questionable when it has been under a can lid / possibly old too... Did you re-hydrate, sprinkle or other when pitching?

Usually I would say give it a swirl and warm it up a couple of degrees, but if the temp has already been 20C-26C, I don't know if that would help. Did the temp swing from 26 for the first few days downwards suddenly?

TBH 6C is quite a large temp range, you should try out a swamp cooler or different fermenting spots for steadier temps next time. Also of course, maybe try switching to a specific yeast such as Bry97 or S05 if you did this brew again. If you do add yeast and get the S.G. down to 1010 - 1013 or so, you could have a few funky flavours/ twang because of the high temps and swings during fermentation.