Refractometers From E-bay (hong Kong) Any Good?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SJW

As you must brew, so you must drink
Reaction score
Just wondering if anyone has bought a refractometer from E-Bay, and were they any good? I have never owned one and have just realised how much time and stuffing around it takes me to cool a pre boil sample and take the gravity reading and then do the temp conversion.
I though for $30 if these were worth buying? Its not my nature to go "cheap Charlie" especially with my brewing gear but these refractometers are pretty basic things so if they work.......well they work.

Steve

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...e=STRK:MEWAX:IT

I'm running a cheap ebay one; but without the gravity scale. I tested it against an expensive brixometer (where I used to work in the sugar industry) and it was very close.

QldKev

I have one and it corresponds pretty well to parallel SG readings

I bought one from ebay with SG & Brix. About $25. Works well. Readings match hydrometer. Line is sharp.

I got one. Initially, I thought they were going to be identical to the more expensive ones, but on recieving it, the construction quality is simply not the same, but it is adequate and does a good job for the money. The main flaw in mine is the thread on the focus adjustor, which is a little crude and loose.

I am a bit annoyed that I got the SG, because I noticed it being off at high gravity, and someone here pointed to the difference between maltose and sucrose. I guess the SG is still good at lower gravities, but if applying a formula to the brix reading is more accurate, then I'd rather just have brix.

I bought one a few weeks back and used it on my last brew day... absolutely loved it. Worked a treat. Highly recommend it over using a hydrometer.