New Zealand Breweries And Golf!

Mrs PoMo is quite the Itinerary planner :angry: . We have two and a bit weeks on the North Isle starting Sunday evening (18th).

I'll be at these venues while I'm there:

Galbraiths Ale House: Monday 19th in the evening
Hallertau Brewery: Thursday 22nd in the arvo/evening
Hell's Pizza: Mon 26th
Rotorua Thermal Golf Course (*shrug*): Tues 27th - should be "interesting"

Actually, that's about it for brewery/golf visits <_< Should be more breweries with kid interest... Will be stopping at some good bottle shops and filling the gaps in the suitcase with beers for an interesting pass thru customs on the way back in.

Anyway, if there are any kiwis who read this board and you frequent any of these venues, if you're there when I'm there, just yell out "Any Aussie Home Brewers in the house?" and I'll find you :D

Will be stopping at some good bottle shops and filling the gaps in the suitcase with beers for an interesting pass thru customs on the way back in.

Not sure if you're stopping off at any wineries, but if so try to pick up a styrofoam wine shipper. They're perfect for checking in beer on a plane.

Also, it's much easier at customs if you have a list of the beers written down with quantity, ABV and volume. They can then just plug it all into the computer and you pay your excise/taxes, rather than them opening up everything and looking at every single bottle.

Actually, as long as you are within your duty free allowance, you don't pay excise. I also have managed to take homebrew through customs packaged in the styro boxes, and they weren't interested in the details, only the amount and what it was. i took the details with me but no-one wanted to look or even ask.
The moulded styro bottles boxes are available from most NZ post shops (or they were recently anyway)

Actually, as long as you are within your duty free allowance, you don't pay excise. I also have managed to take homebrew through customs packaged in the styro boxes, and they weren't interested in the details, only the amount and what it was. i took the details with me but no-one wanted to look or even ask.
The moulded styro bottles boxes are available from most NZ post shops (or they were recently anyway)

It's a shame that the duty free allowance is 2L though for all alcoholic beverages! Not much beer at all.

I've flown back from the UK with beer over the duty limit and from the US with 30+ bottles. I was charged excise/tax every time, though I have had friends that have just been waved through as its "just beer" :D That said, I did declare it each time.

After the first time of waiting while they inspected each bottle I've always carried a list, makes it so much quicker.

I know another member on here brought back a suitcase full of beer from the US all itemised, priced, etc. The customs guy looked at the list, went "that'd come to about twenty bucks, don't worry about it mate, through you go" and let him thru. I guess it depends on whether the supervisor is around at the time or whatever?

I come through with well over my limit of beer & spirits all the time & todate never been charged - I always declare & have a friendly chat, which usually ends up with a wink & an "on you go sir..." B)

I'm willing to run the risk. Will prepare a neat list with prices paid, strength, etc listed and put on my best bureaucrat smile. Doesn't worry me too much if I have to pay a couple bux in excise anyway. Would just rather not.

When coming from the USA, I always used to load up with about 50% more than we were allowed, I'd declare I was brining in untreated wood (highland bagpipes) and the extra grog.

They would always ask to see the untreated wood straight away and when they saw they were pipes, they'd forget about the alcohol, worked every time!

Just checking in with a quick report from a dial-up connection in our accommodation on the shores of Lake Rotorua.

So far, I tried Galbraiths which was a little disappointing. The Ordinary was OK, but as I moved up the gravities, the balance somehow fell out of kilter, and I just didn't enjoy the beers. The trainee staff on the bar were friendly but clueless about the beers. The Hallertau was great. Met some NZ mashies and Stephen the Hallertau's brewer. Although my conversation with these nice people was all too short due to my being there with the family, they seemed like a nice group, as most brewers are. The bar was good and family friendly, the beers were good (although I reckon the hefe is 1an interesting NZ deviation, rather than a true Bavarian style hefe) and the food was generally OK, apart from the mushrooms in cranberry that Mrs PoMo ordered, and quite creative, like the Thai spiced risotto that I had.

Of the big breweries, the Speights Distinction is the pick of the crop. Lion Red is drinkable but very sweet and hopless, like most megalager the world over. Tried a Steinlager on the Bay of Islands ferry to see if it was any better closer to the source and I'm sorry to say, no, it isn't.

Currently I'm trying the beers from one of Rotorua's, two craft breweries, Crouchers. The Hefe is quite nice and the BoPils is decent. Shortly going to try the Pale. So far I'm quite impressed for a brewery that started out as a BOP. Might get to the Pales by the end of this post :)

What impresses me most about NZ's licensing is the ease of access to beer, but the micro scene is underrepresented in the supermarkets. All commuter ferries have a bar with Speights, Lion, Tui, and sometimes Monteiths beers. The bars are family friendly and you can buy liquor in supermarkets. Today I bought a 4-pack of Hoegaarden wit for NZ$9.99! There is also price competition for local wines. We've had some decent local drops for below NZ$12, although you are rewarded well for spending double that. The NZ$25 local wines would hold their own with A$25 wines at home.

As I predicted, I'm now sipping the Crouchers APA. Nice beer, well balanced between Cascade, which I presume are NZ cascade, and malt. Not bad for a provincial micro. I hope to get in there tomorrow and say hello to the brewers. I'll also be sampling the beers of the Waipa Brewery at the Pheasant Plucker Inn. From what I've seen so far, there are some nice beers to be had on the North Island, although the micro scene is supposed to be best in the Marlborough wine district on the South Island. I'll keep checking the shelves of every bottle shop and supermarket while I'm here. Will also be checking out the beer friendly bottle shops in Wellington in a couple of days.

We've racked up a lot of k's in a Ford Territory AWD while here. The car is great for NZ country roads. The drivers here are weird. In the cities, be prepared to brake when heading toward any intersection as people seem to take right turns across two lanes at speed, without indicating and despite oncoming traffic. I couldn't spot any consistent rule about when to indicate, it seemed to depend on whim. In the country, most drivers are fantastic. They pull over onto the shoulder to let faster traffic pass, they indicate with blinkers when it's safe to pass, space traffic well, etc etc etc. The two styles of driving are a marvel to behold.

So far we've seen Auckland, Northland and the Corromandrel (sp?) peninsula and now Rotorua. A very interesting and special place. I like it here a lot. The people are fantastic, the country is beautiful and the lifestyle seems very laid back.

Will report back with more beer reports as I travel further south. Any special places to see (especially beer related) between here and Wellington would be appreciated. Greetings to the brewers I met at the Hallertau, whose names I have typically forgotten :D

Hey cussie bro

I dont think there is much between Rotorua and Wellington. The micro in Martinborough has shut, I know cos I went looking for it 6 months ago. In Wellington, if you go to the bottle shop opposite the basin reserve, and grab one bottle of each NZ beer you havent sampled before, your trolley will be very full.

In Wellington, if you go to the bottle shop opposite the basin reserve, and grab one bottle of each NZ beer you havent sampled before, your trolley will be very full.

Thanks bro. Kind of info I was looking for.

That's Regional Wines & Spirits at the Basin. Also try Rumbles in the city, Waring Taylor Street

Good drinking at the Malthouse on Courtney Place, Bodega in Ghuznee St and Bar Edward further out in Riddiford Street

When are you in Wellington ?

Between Rotorua and Wellington, not so much as far as I know. Presume you checked this, don't know how current it is http://www.realbeer.co.nz/nz_breweries/

Waituna Brewery, Shamrock Brewpub and Tuatara Brewery. The only one I know is Tuatara.

cheers, jaytee

If you end up near Timaru in the South Island, the DB Brewery tour isn't bad value - for $5 you get the tour (don't see much apart from the bottling line) but you get to leave with six pack of your choice. They distribute various beers from the same site - the Mrs and I went last time we were over there and got half a slab (mainly Monteiths) for $10...

That's Regional Wines & Spirits at the Basin. Also try Rumbles in the city, Waring Taylor Street

Good drinking at the Malthouse on Courtney Place, Bodega in Ghuznee St and Bar Edward further out in Riddiford Street

When are you in Wellington ?

Between Rotorua and Wellington, not so much as far as I know. Presume you checked this, don't know how current it is http://www.realbeer.co.nz/nz_breweries/

Waituna Brewery, Shamrock Brewpub and Tuatara Brewery. The only one I know is Tuatara.

cheers, jaytee

Yeah, I have the realbeer list in my map, but more touristy things than just beer are on my list. We'll be in Wellington Thursday, staying until Sat morning, I think. Keen to catch up on Thursday or Friday evening for a quick pint?

If you end up near Timaru in the South Island, the DB Brewery tour isn't bad value - for $5 you get the tour (don't see much apart from the bottling line) but you get to leave with six pack of your choice. They distribute various beers from the same site - the Mrs and I went last time we were over there and got half a slab (mainly Monteiths) for $10...

Only the North Island on this trip. We're planning another trip to the South Island next year with some wine-buff friends.

Beer prices here are fantastic. If I lived here on my Aussie salary, I'd be very happy and basically permanently too pissed to brew.

Glad to hear you're enjoying yourself pomo, especially happy that you had a great time at Hallertau - Stephen is a top bloke and runs a great show out there. Shame you didn't enjoy Galbraiths so much, I rate all of their beers - it's a mecca for me. Each to his own. Did you get a chance to stop by a Cock & Bull?
I used to quite fancy Speights Distinction, it's just a little sweet and not hoppy enough for me these days, my palette has moved on I guess. Their "craft" range has a pretty decent porter and a rather nice pilsner, look out for them.

I went to the Pheasant Plucker in Rotorua last night. Tried most of the Waipa beers. Either they were all stale, or they were brewed with extract. I kept the empty bottle of the Bitter as the keg had run dry and there was no replacement... let's see, Best Before 261007. Ooops. Stale. All of the beers on tap had the same twang as the bottled Bitter. I had to finish with a Crouchers Pale Ale in the bottle to restore my faith that it is not my palate. Oh well, the Crouchers beers are great, didn't love the Waipa :(

Glad to hear you're enjoying yourself pomo, especially happy that you had a great time at Hallertau - Stephen is a top bloke and runs a great show out there. Shame you didn't enjoy Galbraiths so much, I rate all of their beers - it's a mecca for me. Each to his own. Did you get a chance to stop by a Cock & Bull?
I used to quite fancy Speights Distinction, it's just a little sweet and not hoppy enough for me these days, my palette has moved on I guess. Their "craft" range has a pretty decent porter and a rather nice pilsner, look out for them.

The Hallertau was great. A funny story from there. When we were leaving, I was having a bottle filled at the bar and the Mrs was with the kids at the front. When I got back there, she asked me to take her purse to the car and the kids were already on their way out the back to the playground. So I walked out, stashed the beers in the car, put away the wife's purse and the waitress who'd been serving us came running out. "You finished then?" - "Yes, it was great thanks!" - "Well would you like to pay???" -- Ooops. Seems the Mrs hadn't picked up the tab and thought I would. Very embarrassing.

As I said earlier, the Galbraiths beers didn't really hit the spot with me. It might be the water, as I seem to prefer the hoppier beers over here (with the exception of the Speights, but that's South Island, so different water and no-doubt reverse osmosis filtering). Same thing here in Rotorua, the Crouchers stuff is hoppier than the Waipa.

Cheers, will look for the Speights Porter when I'm in Wellington.

Anyway, I'm going to be off-line for the rest of the trip. Heading to a fishermans cabin on Lake Waikaremoana then Taupo, then on to Wellington before a quick dash back up the West Coast to Auckland and on to to our Aerolineas Argetinas white knuckle flight home!!!

Waipa is indeed extract, funnily it used to be a brew-on-premises enterprise. No comparison between them and Crouchers, Waipa simply isn't mustard. Not sure what you've heard of Speights, but it's Lion, so definitely NOT brewed solely in the South Island. I believe their craft range _might_ be but I wouldn't put money on it. Their standard range they'll be brewing at the lager factory nearest.

Galbraiths, with the exception of a seasonal burton pale ale, is true to style - firmly bitter but not in your face hoppy. I guess I like 'em that way. The water there can make all the difference, sometimes you'll get an ordinary bitter that takes a real minerally tone, I find it sets the goldings off very well indeed - so very moreish. Other times it can be much more subdued.

I met up with the scruffy, sunburnt Aussie (his own words) at the malthouse last night
Supposed to meet there at 7:30 but seems he was thirsty and ditched the family early so 7.00 it was.

Tried a hearty selection of .. I think ... Emersons Bookbinder, Tuatara IPA, Three Boys IPA, Emersons 1812, Renaisence Scotch Stonecutter .. ah, my wallet tells me that there was probably another round in there as well.

I'd suggested a walk down to shed 22 to try a Sassy red (being quite topical at the moment) but he declined on the grounds that he'd never tried a good Macs beer.

All in all a very enjoyable few hours talking beer, brewing and lots of associated subjects including the carbon footprint of his travels in New Zealand.

So the man is alive & well and may be able to give you the Aussie's perspective of said beers

cheers, jaytee

Gday all. I'm back on the Western Island now, having spent a fantastic 17 or so days over in the land of the long white cloud. Had a great time over there with the family. The highlight beer-wise would have been the Malthouse sharing rounds with a grey balding (his words) dude called jaytee. I think you were right, and there was another beer at the end, but for the life of me, I can't remember what it was. I know, I intended to buy an Aventinus at the end, but your coach was about to turn into a pumpkin or something.

Out of the list of beers Jaytee posted above, I'd rate all except the Tuartara IPA which was hand pumped and possibly was in the cask too long. Also, the 1812 was a tad old... cardboardy iirc? Otherwise, they were great beers, as good as any Aussie craft beer in quality.

I ended up not getting any hops to bring home. Just too much to add to an already packed itinerary plus family-oriented spontenaity. I will post some NZ beer pics later, once I've downsized them for the web. I bought a DSLR for the trip and shot over 2000 frames in NZ. Sorting them will take a while! The beer section of New World was AMAZING! Did I post about that already? I went back to the store with the camera and took photos, attracting lots of weird looks.

Anyway, I highly recommend The Hallertau and the Malthouse to anyone going over. Galbraiths is also worth the visit, given what the locals think of it. It may well have "just been me" on the day I was there.

It was great meeting you jaytee and the guys at the Hallertau whose names I've forgotten. The distilled IPA was very interesting to try. Thanks for whoever brought that and poured me a sample. I think you could be onto something for a new uniquely NZ spirit. Thanks also to Steve at the Hallertau for introducing me to the HB'ers. Had a blast and as usual, the brewers I met, both professional and amateur, were all top blokes.

A freshly repatriated PoMo.

Here are some pics.

First, where I was:

baa.JPG

Yes, New Zealand.

Beer advertising was simple, but effective:

ad.JPG

Ferry commuters could unwind on the way home or on the way in to work:

ferry_fridge.JPG

Galbraiths Alehouse:

galbraiths.JPG