Mixing And Matching Hops

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kocken42

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Just wondering, when designing your own recipes, is there any particular way to formulate hop additions?

As in, do you keep the hops to a particular style (e.g fruity), or can you do some fruity with some spicy hops?

Are there any big no-no's?

I know it's all about experimentation, but I can imagine the combination of certain hops would probably result in a pretty ugly beer most of the time.

Thanks in advance.

When I started brewing I kept to single hop recipes most of the time. I eventually tried a beer that a friend made and it was fantastic with a hop character that I had never been able to replicate (it was an american pale ale and I had made a lot of them before). Turns out the late hops were a mix of cascade and centennial and I tried mixing the same varieties in my next APA. The result was way better than the single hop APAs I had made prior to that.

Since then I've experimented quite a bit. Some hops just naturally mix well, some don't, and there are some combinations that you swear shouldn't work but do. For instance, European noble hops and some of the classic american "C" varieties go very well together. The same can be said of the classic British varieties and the "C" americans.

It's really all up to your personal taste. You might find some combinations that you find disgusting but others love and vice-versa. Don't be afraid to experiment, though.

I've heard great things about combining American hops with EKG and noble hops. My next bitter is going to be a combination of EKG and Cascade.