Matilda Bay Beez Neez Clone?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chemacky

Reaction score
Hi all, first post here after a few days of solid topic reading.

Firstly, I'm very new to brewing, but also very keen! I just started my thrid brew, however I haven't tried my first or second yet! My first brew (a Brewiser wheat beer kit) should technically be ready according to the can instructions, however I can't taste it yet due to a terrible cold! Everything tastes like cardboard to me at the moment. It's interesting why I'm such a keen brewer when I don't really like beer all that much. I tend to like exotic beers however... and i suppose this is the reason for this thread.

For that first brew I added some honey when bottling to some of the bottles just to see if it would taste anything like Beez Neez. After doing some solid reading on this forum, it appears that this is an unorthadox approach to say the least. But being new to brewing I didn't even know if adding honey was 'legal' or what, so i didn't want to ruin the whole batch by adding it to the fermenter. Has anyone else ever added something like this when bottling? Is it a definite no no, or are there not really any rules?

Secondly, I was wondering if anyone had made a beer similar to Matilda Bay's Beez Neez? Or can think of some ingredients for me to try? Please remember that I'm along way from advaced when it comes to this, so a can of wort and some other things added as abouut as complicated as I can go atm. I'm terribly fond of Beez Neez, but not at all fond of the $21 for a 6 pack price.

Thirdly, Does anyone have any exoitc-like beer recipes? I read in this topic http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum/inde...c=8885&st=0 of a licorice stout, which I am certainly going to try. Thats the sort of thing that really intrigues me atm.