Making a Perry! Some advice please. No Activity

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

manus

Reaction score
Hi, I have been watching how to make pear cider videos on youtube for a bit and thought I would give it a shot and so went to the local brew shop and got the 5 litre bottles to brew in.
Anyway I was talking to the store owner and decided I would make 1 batch of Perry just to see if I liked it. I am not second guessing the store owner as I have never done this before but just there is absolutely no activity happening in the brew and its been an hour.

So anyway,
I got the pure pear juice from tins, no preservatives/additives. I was speaking to the store owner about the adding of sugar to the brew and I had seen many videos of people using brown sugar. He warned against this and told me that standard white sugar should do the trick which I was okay with. Then he added that there might be enough sugar in the juice already and I might not need to add any sugar whatsoever.

I was intrigued by this and he told me to take a reading from the hydrometer of the pear juice and it will have the sugar content on it too. It showed up at 156 per litre, which worked out at about 7.8%. I thought this was a perfect alcohol content and decided not too add any sugar.

So I went poured the contents into the 5 litre glass jar and then added the yeast (Craft Series. M02 Cider Yeast). No problems so far.

Now one thing I did notice on the majority of videos on youtube (Mostly British) was that they shook the bottle well with the yeast in it ( I have only brewed beer so far and was always told to let it sit on top and let it do the work) So I shook the bottle with the yeast in it as advised via youtube.