Home Brewing On The Country Hour

While stocks are low I have been buying 3 x Hollandia 660ml for $10 and have accumulated 24 so far, a very nice green tall bottle, just the go for taking beer places or even into comps. However I'll need to get a capper now. Also bought a carton of PETs from LHBS, Brewcraft brand so Coopers don't obviously have monopoly. I need the smaller bottles for comps and bringing a few samples down to Sydney :icon_cheers:

cmon, beef, lift your game....comment on the fact that he was in Gloria Jeans, but fail to reference the fact he was drinking decaf???

:lol: :p

Or the fact that he's supporting a dangerous religious cult - being that Gloria Jeans is a money-laundering front for the Hillsong Church.

Has anyone seen my tinfoil hat ?

I think it's great that (well looks like) more people are brewing. I was talking to a work collegue and she was saying while she was in uni she stayed in a shared dorm house and htere where all these guys rewing beer, they weren't allowed and when a few bottles exploded in the laundry room they all got told off and some evicted, I reckon it's incidents like these that have given home brewing, not a bad name, but dirty looks should we say. Now that more and more are doing it hopefully great home brewers will start getting the credit they deserve, as we all know its not easy work getting to the point where you make an excellent brew.

Aaron

Now all we need is a big AHB banner in all the brew sections in the supermarkets :D

Big AHB banner, eh? Sounds like a plan... to the BrewMobile! *Rushes to trusty Valiant and roars off to the local Woolies*

Seriously though thats not a bad idea at all, anyone have any ideas on how we'd implement it?

On another note, Coopers have issued this article on the recent rise of homebrew sales. Particularly the International range, which is interesting.

Cheers - boingk

EDIT: Spartan117 - funny you should mention the uni brewing getting suss looks...that was me last year and the one before, the crazy dude down the hall with a brewery in his closet! I remember a 'room inspection', which we got if we missed the cleaners 2 weeks in a row (ours came morning after bar night). You know, just to make sure we weren't hiding anything or trashing the uni's property. Well, I'm in a towel and I hear a knock on the door. Gruff voice: "Room inspection" Me: "Er, righto. Two seconds, I'm in a towel." Quickly shove a case under my bed with the others and close the wardrobe to hide the fermentors, taking their airlocks out to stop the bubbling. Shove a shirt and tee on and open the door. I almost died with laughter, these two maintenance guys were standing about 4 meters from my door. One: "Whaddaya reckon?" Other: "Looks a'ight ta me." One: "Thanks mate!" And that was that :huh:

We normally see either a burst of coopers kits for sale on ebay at this time of the year due to people not liking their xmas presents or an increase in new members asking what the hell they are supposed to do with one!

Despite the uptake of the hobby, few seem to stick with it as they fail at their first attempt or think it's too hard and don't even try.

There are still a few luddites who still think homebrew = bad beer. On NYE, a couple of the lads were just "No, I don't like homebrew" and wouldn't even try. The ones that hit into a nice ale were happy and pleased. The others just had the Heineken party keg (thank God - rid of that sweet, nutty crap at last).

Go figure.

Cheers - Fermented.