Hi All - I am a Graduate Business Student from the USA and I need your

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I joined this forum to help me with some market research that I am doing. A team and I are writing a business plan built around the idea of a you brew it establishment akin to Australia's U Brew It. I am not a home brewer myself but my husband is a chemist that is very much interested in beer and wine home brewing.

I was wondering if anyone would be interested in giving me their opinions on the U Brew It model and share your experiences about them as well? I would appreciate this so much. Thanks.

you'll get many opinions, I've used them here (about 25 years ago) and in Canada (about 20 years ago)and had no issues

a friend does his beer at a u-brew it (I've only had 1 bad beer of his) most are fine and 1 was great.

quite a lot go out of business, it's high on the Capex

the following thread has some comments that may assist
http://aussiehomebrewer.com/topic/78279-blood-everywhere-the-bottle-went-bang/

You Aussie's are a kick (funny)! Yea, I kinda saw that Blood and Emergency thing (situation) when I was reading through the forum. I was hoping that it was not the prevailing opinion. Lets see what else comes up because I don't think blood is going to help me too much with this project.

That thread - in brief - get a brewer on board and listen to him/her when they say something is unsafe.

I would definately get a brewer. I would not want to do something that is unsafe. I believe that the man is OK. Does this one incident mean that the concept is poor or do you think that maybe they are cutting corners (trying save money)? In America we unfortunately have a propensity to cut corners in order to save a buck (dollar) or two.