Did I Just Ruined My Brew?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ernieg

Reaction score
G'day Fellas,

I'm fairly new to home brewing (this is my 4th brew so far).

Yesterday I started a brew using a kit (Brewcraft Bavarian beer). I did everything by the book: dextrose, kit tin, 2 litters of boiling water, mixed it well, added 20 liters of water, checked it was at 22 degrees C, added the yeast, mix again, close the lid, put the airlock on top...

and then I realized that I didn't take a sample to check with the hydrometer. So I open the little faucet to get a sample and about a drop or two of the water in the airlock got into the fermenting tank.

Usually that wouldn't be a problem I imagine, however, I believe the water in the airlock could have been water that had a bit of sanitizer. While preparing to start the brew I had a big jar of sanitized water (3% Hydrogen peroxide diluted with water).

At that precise moment when I saw that water from the airlock dropped into the fermented I thought "Oh sh*t".

I decided to leave it there and wait to see.

Now it has been over 12 hours and the airlock ain't bubbling...

Could it be that the hydrogen peroxide affected the yeast and therefore there's no fermenting happening?

I used a wheat yeast (safale k-97).

Any ideas?

Thanks very much in advance,

Ernie

Usually that wouldn't be a problem I imagine, however, I believe the water in the airlock could have been water that had a bit of sanitizer. While preparing to start the brew I had a big jar of sanitized water (3% Hydrogen peroxide diluted with water).
Hi ErnieG

As long as your airlock has sanitised water in it then a little bit in your brew shouldn't affect it. Lesson learned, hopefully there is no problem.