Continuing Rant Thread - Get it Off Ya Chest here

on to lighter things:

Those new Carlton Dry ads.

OMFG they are the lamest shittiest ads going at the moment. It's bad enough they're promoting such a crap product, but to do it in such a poor & stupid fashion while trying to present as cool and witty is a travesty.

I suspect they know their market and these sorts of ads probably hit their target.

Maybe after 95% of us get slaughtered by an invading population who consistently & proudly declare for the first 150 years thereafter that there weren't even any other people here when they arrived, and that they were merely "cleaning up" the local animal population a little.

Are we seriously that weak and fragile that when atrocities are pointed out that occurred over a century ago, that weren't perpetrated by ourselves, and probably not even our great grandfathers or anyone remotely connected to us (how many contemporary Australians even had a relative living here more than 120 years ago?), that we are unable to have the decency to simply say "yeah, that's a terrible thing"??

And while i'm at it, what exactly is a "true blue white aussie"?
If it's those ignorant redneck misogynist racist bogans doing donuts in some lame V6 POS while draped in the aussie flag while being cheered on by other "true blue aussies", then i'm truly looking forward to their loss of identity.

I'd rather pose the question of how many more years are we going to endure the Australian identity and flag being associated with those fuckwits?
And how long before Australians fully identify the primary nature of what's made us a great nation to be truly proud of are elements like a classless society of equal opportunity, where we look after each other as best we can, where we gain strength from our history and are not burdened by it's legacy, where corruption and improper use of power and wealth is to be condemned and not applauded, where you judge a person by their actions and not by their race, sex, colour or creed.

Having traveled to a fair few countries over the years, it's particularly annoying to see a fair chunk of our population apparently ignorant of what makes this country a great place to live, and those things that comparatively burden those others countries/societies. Corruption would be one of those things. Intolerance would be another.

(PS: apologies to danscraftbeer, that long rant wasn't directed at you ;), just your comment triggered the rant that had been brewing for a few days :D)
No apology necessary but cheers...
I was trying to make the comment obviously absurd. Which is how I see a lot of political turmoil these days.
Satire being the only retreat.
Oh no I just got texted a joke that no doubt could be offensive. Off to the joke thread now.

No apology necessary but cheers...
I was trying to make the comment obviously absurd. Which is how I see a lot of political turmoil these days.
Satire being the only retreat.
Oh no I just got texted a joke that no doubt could be offensive. Off to the joke thread now.

You just need to work harder on your satire. Don't blame the climate. Make your jokes better.

Everything can be funny but the more boundaries it crosses, the harder you need to work.

Harder? is an understatement. In this day and age of this cultural conditioning to be delicate, fragile, and easily offended its barely worth the attempt considering the possibility of being grossly misunderstood then lynched etc.
Were is simple strength of character? Killed, dead. Freedom of speech? Dead. Free thinking? dead.

Bollocks. Just overly sensitive rednecks crying they can't call their slave 'nigger' anymore without someone calling them a hurtful ephitet like 'racist'. Say what you want, understand the context, own it and move on.

Are you are judging me to be in the racist red neck category?
If so than you may have a point about my attempted humor when I may have felt I was mocking the category.

Are you are judging me to be in the racist red neck category?
If so than you may have a point about my attempted humor when I may have felt I was mocking the category.

I'm not judging you to be in any category.

I'm making a comment about satire, free speech and accepting responsibility for words used. We actually have more freedom of speech, thought and expression today than any time in history, I reckon. Someone else being upset by what you say or write doesn't equate to book burning, torture, imprisonment or any real form of persecution.

I interpreted Danscraftbeer's comment as tongue in cheek the moment I read it.

Maybe I need to go looking for offensiveness in things a bit harder.
Tongue in cheek yes, satire no. As for offensiveness - that's never been a crime in my book and not really something I care about. Offend. Be offensive. Be offended. Nothing happens.

Racists get offended when they get called racists. Oversensitivity is bipartisan which was one point.

My other point was that good satire is clever; the more 'taboo' the subject, the cleverer it needs to be to work. No subject for me is untouchable but you need to do more than say 'poo bum child porn coon' in order to be considered amusing.

Tongue in cheek , satire, ****, surely there's a bit of crossover, but anyway he made it pretty clear in his response to Technobabble that he was making his comment deliberately absurd and that's what came across to me.

Good. I get what you mean and am not really looking for an argument with you.

If it was a joke (which he's made clear and I accept), then I thought it was a shit joke. I made some other points.

Mate, if you're in the slow lane, you can pilot a recumbent bike with a trailer for all I care. You're alright with me.
If I'm honest, taking to a public road on one of these things denotes the user as slow anyway, no matter what lane they operate it in.

day9buatois1web.jpg
Now, how the hell do you bunny hop a gutter on THAT?!