Are You Coming To The Ahb Sydney Pub Crawl ?

Are you coming to the AHB Sydney Pub Crawl - Sat April 16 2005 ?

• Absol-bloody-lutely. Will be there with percussion instruments :)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I've been a bad boy and am out of browny points :(

• I'm a dis-organised idiot and double booked. Can't come :(

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
Doc, Gerard, mike + 1, Crow, Pumpy,Weiz, Duncan, Big Stu,Crusher, Redbeard, and my assistant, Baldrick, is trying to get some of his Uni mates along (Chemical Engineering guys).
Gerard
Oh we filtered Pils & Dark Lager today. Will be on tap weds arvo!

+ Linz and his SWMBO.

Gerard_M said:
Oh we filtered Pils & Dark Lager today. Will be on tap weds arvo!
[post="53512"][/post]​

Just in the nick of time.
So it will be two beers for me at the second stop :lol:

We still have plenty of Wheat & Pale Ale as well Doc.
Gerard

Gerard_M said:
We still have plenty of Wheat & Pale Ale as well Doc.
Gerard
[post="53692"][/post]​

Yes but with 10 pubs I'll have to pace myself :p

So, is there a good variety to drink @ Tha Porterhouse or should I save my capacity for the whole 4 @ the Macquarie?

Also, could some local xperts give us outlanders some tips on beers to look out for at each pub, coz that would be great.

I hear the "blood" is a great one at the Lord Nelson. I tasted it once, but it was long ago, and memory fails.

...and I'd really like to hear what the cognoscenti will go for at the Heritage Belgian.

Looking forward to the pubcrawl "experience" :beer:

Seth :p

Weizguy said:
So, is there a good variety to drink @ Tha Porterhouse or should I save my capacity for the whole 4 @ the Macquarie?

Also, could some local xperts give us outlanders some tips on beers to look out for at each pub, coz that would be great.

I hear the "blood" is a great one at the Lord Nelson. I tasted it once, but it was long ago, and memory fails.

...and I'd really like to hear what the cognoscenti will go for at the Heritage Belgian.

Looking forward to the pubcrawl "experience" :beer:

Seth :p
[post="53733"][/post]​

The Porterhouse bascially no. It is the first stop because someone suggested it and I believe they do a good steak. A good feed before a pub crawl is a must. (I must be getting responsible in my old age :lol:

As for brews to look out for along the way, I've put together a few below.

1. Porterhouse Hotel - Guinness with your steak ( or a pint of milk :lol: )
2. MacQuarie Hotel - Ideally you'd want to try them all. The wheat is very good and the Pils and Dark Lager won't be avail until Wednesday so ...
3. The Pumphouse - Haven't been there for a long time. Jim Levet (earlier in the topic recommends The Thunderbolt
4. James Squire Brewhouse and Restaraunt - I'd be trying some of the beers brewed on the premises over the readily available ones
5. RedOak - Pale Ale and the Oatmeal Stout
6. Heritage Belgian Beer Caf - Rochefort 10, Leffe Radieuse (oh I wish they had Saison Dupont)
7. Lowenbrau Keller - Mango Weizen or one of the Rauch beers.
8. Hero of Waterloo - no idea. Anything not megaswill.
9. The Lord Nelson - Nelsons Blood, Three Sheets
10. The Australian Heritage Hotel - too many to list and by this stage I'm sure it won't matter.

Man, I wish I was going on a pub crawl like that. Last one I went on, the first stop was Bar 107 and the pubcrawl special was on Toohey's New.

Doc said:
stripped out>>>>

10. ........ too many to list and by this stage I'm sure it won't matter.

[post="53762"][/post]​

Sounds like the well oiled beer machine in you is all fired up! :chug:

As Vim quite charmly put it!....
'Lager makes me happy vodka makes me mean, iam a heavy metal drinking driving alcohol machine. Listen to me drinking..... drinky drink a drink'. :super:

Yours Truelly
Jayse
PS
All i wanna do is drink as much as can.
Thats why iam a member of a heavy metal band.
cause I........
oh I........................Iam gunna drink till I die. :chug:

PPS
I don't really wake up in the morning and drink a bottle of gin.

PPPS
Have fun Sydningtonites

All I know is, when I'm next in Sydney, I'll be pub crawlin that's for sure.
Used to start at the Metropole, and crawl down to the Sportsman's bar.
Just a 2 pub crawl.
That was in the 60's.
Doubt if they still exist.
You could smell a Resch's pub from a block away.
Tooths "Old & New" was my favourite then.
They were just putting the finishing touches on the Opry house.
You had to drink swill in those days. Weren't nothin else.
We all had can piercer - bottle openers on our key rings.

jayse said:
Doc said:
stripped out>>>>

10. ........ too many to list and by this stage I'm sure it won't matter.

[post="53762"][/post]​

Sounds like the well oiled beer machine in you is all fired up! :chug:

As Vim quite charmly put it!....
'Lager makes me happy vodka makes me mean, iam a heavy metal drinking driving alcohol machine. Listen to me drinking..... drinky drink a drink'. :super:

Yours Truelly
Jayse
PS
All i wanna do is drink as much as can.
Thats why iam a member of a heavy metal band.
cause I........
oh I........................Iam gunna drink till I die. :chug:

PPS
I don't really wake up in the morning and drink a bottle of gin.

PPPS
Have fun Sydningtonites
[post="53768"][/post]​

My god, all the quotes I had forgotten about.
Used to love Bad News (it was Bad News wasn't it) with the cast of the Young Ones (except Mike) as Heavy Metal wannbes.
La, la, lager, lager

I remember them doing a segment with Lemmy from Motorhead at Donnington. Classic 80's comedy.

Damn I thought I'd killed those brain cells :chug:

All I can say is:

"Stop the chemical Invasion. Keep German beer pure" - Chemical Invasion sung by Tankard.

As U might expect, it's about the Reinheitsgebot and it refers to the time when Germany was pressured to relax the Reinheitsgebot to allow fair competition. Both sides won. They relaxed the rules; and the Germans still chose pure German beer anyway. :beer: It's punk, U know.

" I come and see U every night,
I take out my purse and I buy a pint.
Would U like another? No thanks.
2nite I'm wearing incontinence pants" - Alcohol sung by GBH. :party:

And "It's a lovely lager. it's a lovely drop.
If U drink 2 much, you'll be on the flop.
The first glass is beautiful. The second - bloody great,
But if U drink that final inch, you'll end up bloody crook, mate!" - Homebrew by Mr Floppy. :chug:

My musical beer quotes are exhausted for the night. The only other reference I can come up with is from Jamaica Rum by the Ted Mulry Gang. Stop me, somebody...

Seth out :p

* Edited for spelling only (Seth the pedant)

Weizguy said:
And "It's a lovely lager. it's a lovely drop.
If U drink 2 much, you'll be on the flop.
The first glass is beautiful. The second - bloody great,
But if U drink that final inch, you'll end up bloody crook, mate!" - Homebrew by Mr Floppy. :chug:

[post="53804"][/post]​

I don't really agree with this one, block your ears and eyes if you get offended easily because .......beer actually makes me hard. :p :lol:

Jayse

I'm happy to announce i'll be attending the pub crawl this saturday. It will be great to meet a few people from this forum and end up like this...... :party:

Here's another song you can sing while walking the streets of Sydney.

Snip...
I get knocked down
But I get up again
You're never going to keep me down
Snip...

From Chumbawana.

Good Day
I hope to get along for a few of the pubs at least. Try to meet up at the Macquarie and finish wnenever (not that keen to watch super 12). Looking forward to meeting up with everyone.

I'll be coming along and will try to drag a few mates along too.

Might be a good idea to print out a few copies of the map to hand out at the beginning in case people get lost/straggle after a few pubs :)

Anyone have access to a free colour laser printer at work :)

Rich

For catching up what are the approx times? I've taken a guess , please ammend as required.

1.Porterhouse Hotel 12.30-1.00
2. MacQuarie Hotel 2.00-2.45
3. The Pumphouse 3.00-3.30
4. James Squire Brewhouse and Restaraunt 3.40-4.30
5. RedOak 4.40-5.50
6. Heritage Belgian Beer Caf 6.00-6.45
7. Lowenbrau Keller -
8. Hero of Waterloo -
9. The Lord Nelson -
10. The Australian Heritage Hotel -

mikem108 said:
For catching up what are the approx times? I've taken a guess , please ammend as required.

1.Porterhouse Hotel 12.30-1.00
2. MacQuarie Hotel 2.00-2.45
3. The Pumphouse 3.00-3.30
4. James Squire Brewhouse and Restaraunt 3.40-4.30
5. RedOak 4.40-5.50
6. Heritage Belgian Beer Caf 6.00-6.45
7. Lowenbrau Keller -
8. Hero of Waterloo -
9. The Lord Nelson -
10. The Australian Heritage Hotel -
[post="53890"][/post]​

Those sound like reasonable timings to me.
I think we need a volunteer to act as the chief timekeeper and contact point. Preferably someone that knows a lot of the attendees and whose mobile phone number is public already.
Is that a hand I see; yes it is. Thank you Gerard :p
So Gerard will be making sure we don't dilly dally along and will be the contact point for those that are not in for full admission :lol:

No probs.
Just had a taste of the two new beers at The Mac. The Pils is just a run of the mill Lager that will get the mega swill drinkers in.
The Dark Lager or Schwartz Beer is my new favourite beer, which is interesting as a fondness for black beer is what got me into brewing to start with.
Gerard

Status
Not open for further replies.