Why Is My Yeast Not Doing Anything?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

troyedwards

Reaction score
HI All,

I have followed the instructions on culturing yeast from Coopers Pale ale as per a document on here. I made the wort, chilled it, added the yeast, I have kept it between 19-22deg since Thursday night and nothing has happened. No bubbling, no movement at all.

Should I swirl it around, raise the temp a bit more?

The yeast is in a decor 1L flask. Everything was sterilised with Milton tabs. The wort smells fine, have not tasted yet, but I do not think it is infected.

Any suggestions? This is my first time doing this.

As long as you are confident you've rinsed the Milton out then I wouldn't worry until at least Monday. The age of the yeast can have some bearing on how long it takes to get going. As does yeasst quantity, storage temp, pitching temp etc.

If you need a faster start then use more Coopers dregs or a smaller starter and step up.

as you suggested I would give it a swirl as often as possible until it gets going and maybe a nice cuddle on the lounge while watching the grand final.

I tend to swirl all my starters for the first day or two. Have you got more sediment on the bottom of the flask? I remember the only time I cultured a coopers yeast from the bottle it took a few days to get going, 3 from memory, and I put that down to there being a fair amount of dead cells from the bottles. I also done a liter but I think next time I'll start with 3-400ml and step it up to the 1L-1.5L. Sorry, I know there's no answer there, just sharing my experience from my first time to give you a little info to work with.

How much did you use? dregs from 6 stubbies? 1 longneck?