Why Is Draught Beer So Expensive In Hobart?

wabster

I just got back from a wonderful trip to Tassie, did some walking around Cradle Mountain/Dove Lake and enjoyed the Salamanca Markets in 32 degrees last Saturday. That created quite a thirst for sure!!

However what I just can't get over is the price of draught beer in Hobart area. A schooner, 15oz/425ml of Cascade beer, both draught and Pale Ale is around $5.25 in public bars, pints are $7.20 and while I did buy middies/pots for the missus I can't recall their price.

I thought it might just be a "City" price but we went down to Port Huon and stayed next to the Kermandie pub and the bar prices were the same, over 5 bux a schooner, and it is a pretty downmarket kind of place. Same prices at the Dover pub further south.

Do those who know the area both a residents or regular visitors know what I was doing wrong? Or are those prices just the norm there? I was quite quite staggered and not from the effects of drinking the stuff for sure.

I enjoyed the Cascade Brewery tour and beers afterwards, but the Minister for War and Finance was right onto my beer drinking in pubs because of the prices.

Is this the most expensive city "public bar" price in Australia? Cheerz Wab.

dont go to pubs regularly but that seems about the norm unfortunately. went into a pub last night by chance and paid about $3.50 for a 10oz cascade draught. most places dont seem to vary in price too much from what i have seen.

whats worse is that you rarely get any decent beer on tap, and if you get bottles, the prices are even steeper!
joe

Those prices are pretty close to mainstream city prices. Public bars are a bit cheaper.

Remember Tassie is Tourist Central !

EDIT: Splng

not tassie, but i paid $5.20 for a luvly pint of Kilkenny in Mackay last week.

those prices seem a bit steep, must cost the locals with two heads a fortune for a night out :p

only joking ;)

Yard

I went to the Pagewood Hotel in Sydney the other night after work for a cheeky schooner on the way home, asked for a James Squire Amber and the bird said "$5.10 thanks", "I only wanted one" I replied to which she just gave me her deadpan expression above an outstreched palm waiting for my hard earned. Five bloody ten is pretty expensive for an Amber if you ask me. The only good thing is that I got the feature on a pokie and pulled $250 out of it. So I had another $5.10 beer just cause I could.... ha ha ha

I had a few quiet Alpha Pale Ale's at the Toxteth in Glebe late last week. $3.50 a schooie. I think it might have been happy hour (4pm?). Schooners in Sydney are usually $4 - $6 depends on the beer / pub. Considering a 6pak in the bottlo costs $23 (!), another detour to the Toxteth after work is on the cards :)

$5 jugs at the Telegraph Hotel on Wednesday nights from 5pm, $6 for 6pm and so on...
Premium beers are now $10 a jug all night. (I was wondering how long that would last! - they must have lost a fortune!!!)

Just had meself on the weekend a $7 schooner (15oz) of coopers extra strong vintage ale at the Clarendon in Newcastle. Their LCPA on tap was $5.70. No wonder I dont go out much! All I can say is bring on the W.E.T for B.E.E.R.
All the best
Trent

I had a few quiet Alpha Pale Ale's at the Toxteth in Glebe late last week. $3.50 a schooie. I think it might have been happy hour (4pm?). Schooners in Sydney are usually $4 - $6 depends on the beer / pub. Considering a 6pak in the bottlo costs $23 (!), another detour to the Toxteth after work is on the cards :)

Ooohh, give me a hoy next time Craig.

I grew up in Hobart and was planning on going back for a holiday, this isn't good news for me. Up ere in QLD they charge about $4 a schooie but thats for mega swill vb, xxxx, tooheys and other so called beers so I guess i wouldn't mind paying $5-$6 for some localy brewed cascade.

LCPA is about 7.80 a pint i think her in brisvegas..

That price sounds about right, LCPA never tastes the same twice over here in the east, I think it all depends on how many pot holes the truck driver hits on the way to the shop.

That is a excellent price. Little Creatures them selves not long ago were serving up pints of it for $7.80 they have gone up to $8.00 a pint now. Still the cheapest place to get one in Perth though!

Just to add another view on the original topic.

Today after golf I went to the St George Maso's Club (great club, good staff great restaurant) and they have Cascade Pale Ale on tap. $3.60 per schooner!!! And $7.20 for two schooners, the same price as a pint of the same beer in Hobart in a public bar.

I think the marketers rely on the same principle that makes Bundaberg rum its most expensive in Bundaberg itself, local loyalty, there can be no other reason as Excise and GST etc are all Federal taxes.

Frankly I was disappointed that this happened, and felt obliged to blow the whistle on what I think it a rort on the good folks of Tasmania. I think it sucks to be blunt :) Cheerz Wab

Just to add another view on the original topic.

Today after golf I went to the St George Maso's Club (great club, good staff great restaurant) and they have Cascade Pale Ale on tap. $3.60 per schooner!!! And $7.20 for two schooners, the same price as a pint of the same beer in Hobart in a public bar.

I think the marketers rely on the same principle that makes Bundaberg rum its most expensive in Bundaberg itself, local loyalty, there can be no other reason as Excise and GST etc are all Federal taxes.

Frankly I was disappointed that this happened, and felt obliged to blow the whistle on what I think it a rort on the good folks of Tasmania. I think it sucks to be blunt :) Cheerz Wab

Last time I was in Hobart I ordered a Boags from a bar the barman looked like he wanted to kill me, and out of all my mates and family that live in Tassie none of them drink anything but cascade.