What are you brewing in 2017 ?

last brew for the year - the dry-hop schedule is per 20ltr keg

Title: Eagle Point Pale Xmas 2017 - sess IPA not APA
Author: Personal

Brew Method: All Grain
Style Name: American Pale Ale
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 84 liters (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 95 liters
Boil Gravity: 1.036
Efficiency: 82.5% (brew house)

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.040
Final Gravity: 1.007
ABV (standard): 4.38%
IBU (tinseth): 62.86
SRM (morey): 4.68

FERMENTABLES:
7 kg - German - Pilsner (51.9%)
4 kg - German - Wheat Malt (29.6%)
1 kg - Flaked Oats (7.4%)
1 kg - German - Acidulated Malt (7.4%)
0.5 kg - German - CaraMunich III (3.7%)

HOPS:
100 g - cascade, Type: Pellet, AA: 6, Use: Whirlpool for 0 min at 99 °C, IBU: 21.43
100 g - chinook, Type: Pellet, AA: 11.6, Use: Whirlpool for 0 min at 99 °C, IBU: 41.43
50 g - citra, Type: Pellet, AA: 13.5, Use: Dry Hop for 5 days
25 g - mosaic, Type: Pellet, AA: 11.2, Use: Dry Hop for 5 days
25 g - Nelson Sauvin, Type: Pellet, AA: 11.5, Use: Dry Hop for 5 days
50 g - riwaka, Type: Pellet, AA: 4.9, Use: Dry Hop for 5 days

MASH GUIDELINES:
1) Infusion, Temp: 66 C, Time: 90 min, Amount: 40.5 L
Starting Mash Thickness: 3 L/kg

YEAST:
Fermentis / Safale - American Ale Yeast US-05
Fermentation Temp: 20 C
Pressure Ferment

TARGET WATER PROFILE:
Profile Name: Light colored and hoppy
Ca2: 75
Mg2: 5
Na: 10
Cl: 50
SO4: 150
HCO3: 0
Water Notes:

Double brew day today

Brooklyn Summer Ale Clone from Brewman with a few tweaks.

Was a bit of a balls up brew I either knocked the filter off or didnt have it on properly , use a hopsock for all aditions and transfer caused no issues luckily.

Electric pale ale from here http://www.theelectricbrewery.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27506 , have heard good things about this brew so thought I would give it a whirl.
Used there water profile aswell

2nd brew in under 24 hours

NZ Pale
Twas roughly
BB ale 87%
BB wheat 10%
Gladfields Supernova 3%
Dr Rudi @ 60 - 18 ibu
Dr Rudi @ flameout - 5 ibu
Rakau @ cube - 15 ibu
OG 1.054 projected FG 1.010
Denny's favourite 50 @ 18

Will dry hop with Rakau

Throwing down a last brew also, simple pale with a dash of supernova, cascade @30,10 and 0 dry hop galaxy flowers.
I should prolly get started on that!

Brew day with my missus.

45L
100% weyermann pils
Saaz @ 90min for 25IBU
Wyeast 2565

Second ferment on 1kg of rasperries and 1kg blueberries.

She wants to add vanilla too but i don't know about that.

I've got a heap of ingredients to use up so I'm chucking them into a Russian Imperial Stout.

Trumpski RIS
Size: 40 L
Efficiency: 79.0%
Attenuation: 75.0%
Original Gravity: 1.072
Terminal Gravity: 1.018
Color: 42.93 SRM
Alcohol: 7.09%
Bitterness: 88.2

4.0 kg (32.0%) ARTISAN SMOKED RED X MALT - added during mash
1.6 kg (12.8%) Weyermann Vienna Malt - added during mash
1.4 kg (11.2%) Weyermann Munich TYPE I - added during mash
1 kg (8.0%) Weyermann Pale Wheat Malt - added during mash
1 kg (8.0%) Roasted Barley - added during mash
0.5 kg (4.0%) Simpsons Double Roast Crystal - added during mash
0.5 kg (4.0%) Swaen Coffee Malt- added during mash
0.5 kg (4.0%) Weyermann Chocolate Rye Malt - added during mash
0.5 kg (4.0%) Weyermann Chocolate Spelt (Dinkel) Malt - added during mash
.5 kg (4.0%) Victory® Malt - added during mash
1 kg (8.0%) Candi Sugar Dark - added during mash
50 g (14.3%) Chinook (13.0%) - added during boil, boiled 60 m
100 g (28.6%) Fuggle (5.8%) - added during boil, boiled 60 m
50 g (14.3%) Mt. Hood (5.0%) - added during boil, boiled 10 m
50 g (14.3%) Crystal (3.3%) - added during boil, boiled 10 m
50.0 g (14.3%) Mt. Hood (5.0%) - added during boil, boiled 1.0 m
50.0 g (14.3%) Crystal (3.3%) - added during boil, boiled 1.0 m

Yeast: 4 packs of US05

Mash at 68 deg C with 55 litres water. No sparging and 100 min boil to help concentrate the wort (so I should have a higher gravity than estimated).

I've also got some rum barrel chunks that I'm thinking of adding in for further complexity.

I've got a heap of ingredients to use up so I'm chucking them into a Russian Imperial Stout.

Trumpski RIS
Size: 40 L
Efficiency: 79.0%
Attenuation: 75.0%
Original Gravity: 1.072
Terminal Gravity: 1.018
Color: 42.93 SRM
Alcohol: 7.09%
Bitterness: 88.2

4.0 kg (32.0%) ARTISAN SMOKED RED X MALT - added during mash
1.6 kg (12.8%) Weyermann Vienna Malt - added during mash
1.4 kg (11.2%) Weyermann Munich TYPE I - added during mash
1 kg (8.0%) Weyermann Pale Wheat Malt - added during mash
1 kg (8.0%) Roasted Barley - added during mash
0.5 kg (4.0%) Simpsons Double Roast Crystal - added during mash
0.5 kg (4.0%) Swaen Coffee Malt- added during mash
0.5 kg (4.0%) Weyermann Chocolate Rye Malt - added during mash
0.5 kg (4.0%) Weyermann Chocolate Spelt (Dinkel) Malt - added during mash
.5 kg (4.0%) Victory® Malt - added during mash
1 kg (8.0%) Candi Sugar Dark - added during mash
50 g (14.3%) Chinook (13.0%) - added during boil, boiled 60 m
100 g (28.6%) Fuggle (5.8%) - added during boil, boiled 60 m
50 g (14.3%) Mt. Hood (5.0%) - added during boil, boiled 10 m
50 g (14.3%) Crystal (3.3%) - added during boil, boiled 10 m
50.0 g (14.3%) Mt. Hood (5.0%) - added during boil, boiled 1.0 m
50.0 g (14.3%) Crystal (3.3%) - added during boil, boiled 1.0 m

Yeast: 4 packs of US05

Mash at 68 deg C with 55 litres water. No sparging and 100 min boil to help concentrate the wort (so I should have a higher gravity than estimated).

I've also got some rum barrel chunks that I'm thinking of adding in for further complexity.

I don't know that you'd get a whole lot (if any) complexity from the oak chunks- considering the grain bill you already have. My 2c.

Have you used home smoked Red X before? How does it compare to say the oak or cherry smoked varieties that are commercially offered? I assume it is quite mild considering the percentage you are planning on using, but I have it on my list to smoke some melanoidin with apple wood so your input would be greatly appreciated with regards to methodology and contribution.

I don't know that you'd get a whole lot (if any) complexity from the oak chunks- considering the grain bill you already have. My 2c.

Have you used home smoked Red X before? How does it compare to say the oak or cherry smoked varieties that are commercially offered? I assume it is quite mild considering the percentage you are planning on using, but I have it on my list to smoke some melanoidin with apple wood so your input would be greatly appreciated with regards to methodology and contribution.

It's a good point about saving the oak chunks for something more appropriate. I tried an old ale recently and the oak used in it really suited the beer so I might have to add it to the "to brew" list.

In regards to the smoked red malt, I have to admit to cheating as I bought it smoked. It's smoked over single-malt cask dust for two days.
https://www.themaltmiller.co.uk/product/artisan-smoked-red-x-malt/

The smoke wasn't really noticeable in the grains that I had, although a mate bought it nearly six months ago (smoke disappears over time) and only just gave them to me the other day. I figure that even if it doesn't contribute much smoke, it looked like the type of malt that would help to balance all the darker grains. The wort tasted great at the end of the boil!

If you have your own smoker, then I'm sure it would be interesting to try smoking your own. You'll have to let us know how you get on.

It's a good point about saving the oak chunks for something more appropriate. I tried an old ale recently and the oak used in it really suited the beer so I might have to add it to the "to brew" list.

I usually take the oak chunks or dominoes and put them in a low oven (say 120-140C) for about an hour or until the kitchen smells like an oak barrel. Then submerge them in bourbon, rum or in some cases cointreau; and leave for a few weeks.

I then dose finished beer prior to packaging with the liquid to taste and leave the oak out.

Worked nicely with an old ale, a brett fruit beer and numerous stouts and porters.

Pitched my Saison from 01-Jan-2017 yesterday. Belle saison this time, can't be fucked ******* around with that ******* Belgian fucker (wyeast 3724... 8 - 10 weeks til full attenuation last time).

Adding in this 4.5kg bucket of rhubarb tomorrow:
IMG_20171227_145541.jpg
IMG_20171227_220100.jpg

Aim is to obtain a syrup from the rhubarb (with ~1kg of sugar) and bump the fermenter volume from 16 to 25L. Wish me luck ;-)

Pitched my Saison from 01-Jan-2017 yesterday. Belle saison this time, can't be fucked ******* around with that ******* Belgian fucker (wyeast 3724... 8 - 10 weeks til full attenuation last time).

View attachment 110727View attachment 110728

Aim is to obtain a syrup from the rhubarb (with ~1kg of sugar) and bump the fermenter volume from 16 to 25L. Wish me luck ;-)
so I guess your not into rhubarb pie much. Me neither. I'm snap vac freezing Rhubarb atm wonderings of what to do with it. Considering beverage etc. Maybe a couple of pies pffft. :rolleyes:

Couple kilo in the freezer... rhubarb crumble is da bomb. Good muffins too, but crumble... that's spouse stealing material.

Mother in law gave me a kilo of cascade for Xmas so I'll put down a classic APA this arvo.

97% ale
3% Med xtal or supernova

Columbus or dr Rudi @ 60
Cascade @ flameout, cube & dry
35ish ibu. 1.050og

US05

Last brew of the year and slightly modified to what I have on hand. At the boil now.

1917 Tooth's Crystal Ale
46% Castle Pale Ale
25% TF Mild
8% Flaked Maize
21% Raw Sugar
45ml Parisian Essence (Caramel)
EKG to 28 IBU
WLP059 Melbourne Ale @ 20C

Going to pressure ferment this to 5 PSI to keep those twangy esters, then slowly raise toward the end of ferment for carbonation.

View attachment 110727View attachment 110728

3711 is much easier to deal with than 3724. That said, I've not had 3724 take 8 weeks - just keep it hot.

One more for the year. Couldn't help myself. 40l brew last night.
Summer of 59 Hopped Up. This brew worked well as a non Hoppy beer. I want to know how its like as a Hop forward thang...40lt chilled. Brew house efficiency calcs at questionable 90+% sugars do that and maybe the Maize? Grains weighed 6.34kg + 1kg sugar.

OG = 1.045
FG = 1.005 +/- 0.003
IBU = 31
EBC = 9
ABV = ~ 4.8%
Bitterness Ratio 0.680 IBU/SG

Maris Otter = 54.5%
Vienna = 20.4%
Flaked Maize = 9.5%
Acidulated Malt = 1.9%
Raw Sugar = 15.8% (added to boil 15min)

20g Goldings First Wort Hop = 6.5 IBU
15g Super Pride 70 min = 13.8 IBU
35g Galaxy Flame out 20min steep = 9.0 IBU
100g Galaxy Hop stand at 70c 30min steep = 1.8 IBU

Pressure ferment with WLP059.

3711 is much easier to deal with than 3724. That said, I've not had 3724 take 8 weeks - just keep it hot.
I've begun to suspect that it is the large quantity of rhubarb dropping the pH outside of happy yeast range, so this time I let it ferment for a few days before adding the rhubarb. Probably should have measured the pH before and after the addition... But kids and time poor.

Sneaky last brew for 2017 last night with a mate of mine as a collab brew..
American Porter that won the ClubWars comp this year at QHBC. It got big wraps so thought I should at least brew it myself.

About 80% Pale, 4% of each RedX, Shepards delight and Choc, 8% Oats and a smattering of Black.
EKG to bitter with Chinook and ElDorado at 10 and whirlpool for 50IBUs.

46L at 1.063 turned into 47L at 1.068 as my mate crushed some grain at home and I ended up with a record 83% efficiency! Given that for that grain bill I would expect 70% (although I forgot to change this so OG was calculated on 75%) that is a massive increase in efficiency. Might need to start milling my own!

Looking froward to tasting this one in the new year. Will be a bit outside of the Guidelines at 7% abv but i reckon will be all the better for it.