Review My Method

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DustyRusty

Reaction score
Hi All,

Just thought i'd post my method to see if anyone can help me improve things. I'm self-taught when it comes to Homebrew and I want to make the best brews possible. I've been thinking about my method and how it might be improved. Would love thoughts from some of you with a bit of trial and error under your belt.

Step 1: Put grains in large hop bag. Cover with cold water. Bring to just below boiling point. Leave to rest for 10 mins. Remove bag, reserve water.

Step 2: Place grainy water into 15L pressure cooker. Put around 500g of LME into water, dissolve. Fill to 10L or so.

Step 3: tie up hops into muslin pouches and insert into wort at various points. Cook wort with pressure cooker valve completely open the whole time (i.e. no pressure just a good seal).

Step 4: remove hop pouches and place wort in fridge overnight.

Step 5: put wort into fermenter, fill to required volume, sprinkle yeast (nearly always use Safale S-04).

Step 6: if dry hopping, spinkle hops on top of water after a couple of days of fermenting.

Step 7: leave wort to rest for 1-2 after completion of fermentation.

What I'm in doubt about is a couple of things: 1) I'm not sure whether i get the full extraction out of the grains and hops using a hop bag and muslin pouches. Sure saves mess but i'm wondering whether i'm actually wasting hops by doing it. 2) what do you think about the pressure cooker method? I have a slightly bigger pot but a loose lid and inevitably the wort boils over and i have to stand there for and hour removing the lid to control the boil over. Pressure cooker much easier.

Would love your advice on how i can brew better.

Thanks,

DR