Real Ale Cask Options

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I've been brewing AG for a few years now (23 litre batches), mostly English-style Pale Ales and am keen to find a way to dispense small batches which is as close to "real ale" as possible ie: without gassing the beer. I've been bottling up to now and haven't ventured into kegging so I don't have a dedicated beer fridge. I've seen a fair bit of info around about small (5 / 10 litre) casks / kegs. Has anyone used anything like this for gravity dispensed beer ? I'm open to using a cask-breather / blanket Co2 to extend the life of the beer as it would take me 2 weeks to get through a batch. I live in Melbourne so cooling would also be a problem in the summer.

I'd really appreciate any advice, I got into brewing to reproduce English bitter and being able to dispense it at home in something close to authentic style would be fantastic. All ideas gratefully received !

Could always build yourself one of these and just hand pump it out..

No chill cube. Add priming sugar, shut lid. Wait two weeks. Cool to temp. Connect hose to end of cube tap. Pump. Enjoy. Very simple, and works well!!!.

I'd really appreciate any advice, I got into brewing to reproduce English bitter and being able to dispense it at home in something close to authentic style would be fantastic. All ideas gratefully received !
If you know someone in the UK you could have one of their plastic 'casks' shipped out, they are essentially a pressure vessel that you serve the beer from, very popular in the HB scene over there.

5L 'mini' kegs are also an option, either recycled 2nd hand ones or new ones that are now available in Australia.