Polyclar V Whirfloc

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dpadden

Reaction score
Brewed an APA this weekend, and everything went to plan...really happy. Then realised I forgot the bloody Whirfloc which was obvious from the very cloudy wort into the fermenter.

I have never used Polyclar before, but will this do a similar job of clearing things up when added at the end of ferment? I plan on crashing to almost 0 deg then adding polyclar as per instructions.

Thanks guys.

I think youll find that Polyclar is used for chill-haze
Youd be looking at a finning agent like either gelatin or isinglass

Tom

Brewed an APA this weekend, and everything went to plan...really happy. Then realised I forgot the bloody Whirfloc which was obvious from the very cloudy wort into the fermenter.

I have never used Polyclar before, but will this do a similar job of clearing things up when added at the end of ferment? I plan on crashing to almost 0 deg then adding polyclar as per instructions.

Thanks guys.

Polyclar and whirlfloc do different things - so polyclar will not fix any problems caused by leaving out the whirlfloc.

Fortunately there wont really be many problems caused by leaving out the whirlfloc in the first place. The vast majority of what whirfloc does, is make the little bits of hot break floc together into big bits of break, which sink faster, meaning you can rack clear wort to the fermenter with a shorter period of time for settling out the break.

Your cloudy wort was cloudy (probably) simply because it was full of teeny tiny unflocculated particles of hotbreak - these may or may not affect the flavour of your beer by being in the fermenter, but should have minimal to no impact on the clarity of your beer. They will sink to the bottom along with your yeast.