New To Ag

That eBay item looks pretty big and I'd hate to have to try cleaning it - mesh
wire with baked on oil. If you can find a pot insert with holes that are truly no
bigger than 2mm and enough holes so that they're virtually side-by-side it
might work.

What might be easier is to get perforated stainless steel sheet (google for this
- there seem to be heaps of suppliers) normally used for making false bottoms.
Then either cut out a a fat-cross shape, fold into a top less box shape and secure
the sides with small stainless-steel nuts/bolts (bunnings have them). Or if you
have a thin s/s pot you're willing to sacrifice to the beer spirits, cut out panels
from its sides and bottom, then bolt on perforated s/s sheets on the inside.

Acually, I just remembered BribieG's perforated bucket experiments - could do
something similar but instead of drilling, could just grab a long thin nail in pliers,
heat it red hot and melt holes in a suitable food grade bucket (do this under a
rangehood or well ventilated area).

T.

I was joking about that ebay item, way too big for me and too far away.. :lol:

Sacrificing a pot might be ok.. I got a 15L stock pot its thin and actually has a little crack in it at the top.. so it might be that it could be used.

I found this mesh strainer on eBay item 370415142483 .

I know its probably too small, but if I could get a bigger version of this, do you think it would do a good job?

It looks pretty good - kind of like bling-ed up biab - depends on what
your longer term brewing plans are - it'll cost nearly $40 to get it to
Aus. Reckon it's about 5L and could fit into your thermos and I can't
see why you couldn't do multiple 5L batches to combine into a larger
batch to boil. Plus you would qualify for the bonus free Scraper :D

It looks pretty good - kind of like bling-ed up biab - depends on what
your longer term brewing plans are - it'll cost nearly $40 to get it to
Aus. Reckon it's about 5L and could fit into your thermos and I can't
see why you couldn't do multiple 5L batches to combine into a larger
batch to boil. Plus you would qualify for the bonus free Scraper :D

Hee hee.. yeh Im actually more interesed in the scraper....(they're really hard to find :rolleyes: )

My long term plans are to always do small batches 10-14Ltr worth.. I got a 15Ltr fermenter and the bigger one that came in the Coopers Homebrewing Kit, but I tend to use the 15Ltr more as its easier for me to handle on my own.. so Im just going to do the small batches from now on.

I have nothing against BIAB Im just looking for a Stainless Steel alternate to the BAG part...
Whoa, back that horse up, cowboy. The sort of mesh you would need to replicate a grain bag will not be found at a kitchen supply shop. :huh:

If you are foregoing the typical recirc/sparge then you dont have a grainbed filter to stop **** from getting into your kettle. And if as a sibgle vessel brew you dont have a bag, well, youre going to have bits of husk and **** all through your wort !

I really think you should start out with the bag. Or even better go 3v to get a grasp of whats going on.

..... or do plan to chuck the grain in a pot, let it mash, then pour out through the strainer into another vessel? I think that would work if the strainer doesnt block. a bigger one would be good so you could let it drip over some time. Still, a bag is piss easier and less mess I would think

how easy/hard is it to fit a ball valve to a pot.. I got a 19L pot I was thinking of using and the lid of my 15L pot fits well for a false bottom just need to drill holes in it (how big should they be and how close together).... I would probably still be using it on the stove.

This is all hypothetical at the moment, just seeing what I would need if I went that route.

a quick BIAB question.. in regard to sewing the bag using nylon thread.. would frishing line work in this case??? or do I have to buy actual nylon thread???

I dont BIAB im 3V, so i dont know what thrad you need, but you dont actually need to make a bag. Just cut your voille big enough to reach the bottom of your pot and overhang it by a few inches around the edge. Heaps easy to clean as its just a sheet. I did this when i did one BIAB batch before going to 3V and it worked a treat!

BN is on the money. Its the easiest route and IMHO your better off. No seems to break open and yes very easy to clean.

Just run a quick stitch around the outside so it does not fray, if not just use a lighter back and forth and it will seal up the thread nicely.

While your getting the voile get a piece of elastic big enough to go around the outside of your pot to hold the sheet in place.

Come on mate, show some initiative for yourself. Youre not building a nuclear weapon, its a bloody bag to chuck grain into.

on eBay there is a Conical Strainer 300mm Fine Mesh could this be used for straining mash, in small batches.. I have done some calculations and figure it would hold 4L volume.

so would it be useful??

Im thinking of buying one, and I saw the same thing in a kitchen shop fro $55.

Oh, there is also the Conical Strainer 300mm Coarse Mesh from the same seller..

which would be better for straining grain the Fine or Coarse Mesh????

Any reason you can't just use a BIAB bag?

Anyway, you want what's called "poly-thread", I think that's what swmbo said she used...

Or just do as others have said... and use a sheet to start with ;)

Though I 3V now and I didnt really go through a propper BIAB as such, this little kit served me well for partials and spec gran steeping with the added bonus that I could easily sparge the grain (once I got a mill... the 'grinder method gave me LOADS of grief) by sitting the smaller pot on some unused fridge shelving (or cake rack).

Ive not used it in a while now but you get the idea.. I used to just use a stocking over the outside of the pot with a bit of elastic to hold it in place... cleaning was a doddle.

1.JPG

2.JPG

3.1.JPG

Stainless pot in a pot BIAB.... kinda ;)

well I've been tossing up between investing in the pieces necessary to make Braid manifold type using my 19L big W pot, and BIAB.. Im not sure which way to jump?

My first AG I did with a very big colander, and as you can imagine my efficiency was not that great.. I want a permanent setup though I will only ever be doing small half batches 11-14L.

I was in Lincraft today and could even find the viole, but Im going again soon.

Im in no hurry and I doubt I will settle on anything until after Xmas.

:angry: hey Silo Ted..don't be mean..

I just dont want to waste my money, so I want to be sure in what I'm going to do

well I've been tossing up between investing in the pieces necessary to make Braid
manifold type using my 19L big W pot, and BIAB.. Im not sure which way to jump? ...
Could then start out with BIAB and see how you go. A metre of swiss voile
will prob cost around $10 and you could always use the voile to make hop
bags for the boil if you do eventually want to go the braid path. The ball
valve would be useful in either case.

Though I 3V now and I didnt really go through a propper BIAB as such, this little kit served me well for partials and spec gran steeping with the added bonus that I could easily sparge the grain (once I got a mill... the 'grinder method gave me LOADS of grief) by sitting the smaller pot on some unused fridge shelving (or cake rack).

Ive not used it in a while now but you get the idea.. I used to just use a stocking over the outside of the pot with a bit of elastic to hold it in place... cleaning was a doddle.

View attachment 50927

View attachment 50928

View attachment 50929

Stainless pot in a pot BIAB.... kinda ;)

Don't get your face caught in that, you'll have a "hell" of a job getting it off *boom tish* :p

Come on mate, show some initiative for yourself. Youre not building a nuclear weapon, its a bloody bag to chuck grain into.

Ted your being a tool to a noob again............play nice :D

:angry: hey Silo Ted..don't be mean..

Dude, BIAB is dead simple, dont escalate it into something its not. Where are you in Sydney ? If you want to come around over the holiday break, I'll cut a piece of voile up(BribieG styles), we'll do a brew, get 85% extraction efficiency, and you'll go "****, that was nothing to examine to death" and youll see how basic the method really is.

Ted your being a tool to a noob again............play nice :D

Come on, man. Why support the idea that BIAB is difficult by responding to cross examinations of every nuance ?

My offer above is genuine by the way.

Could then start out with BIAB and see how you go. A metre of swiss voile
will prob cost around $10 and you could always use the voile to make hop
bags for the boil if you do eventually want to go the braid path. The ball
valve would be useful in either case.
on the money. I used to use a sheet of cotton voile, felt stronger, safer and cheaper.

Also, Silo sounds like he just saw a naked woman! Take him up :) Beewing is so much more fun to do with someone... even if they do fuckall and just comment on ****.