New Brewer. Poor Head Retention

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richiev

Reaction score
OK, well I'm new to brewing, have currently only done two batches, one lager and one draft. I bought a Coopers Micro-Brew Kit (http://www.coopers.com.au/homebrew/micro_brew_kit_right.htm) a couple months back.
Both of my brews have turned out OK, taste not too bad, except they have both had poor head retention. Basically straight after I pour them into a pot, the head bubbles away to nothing.
Now I read somewhere that this has to do with the temperature at which I am storing the brew after I have bottled.
The manual that I got with the kit (yes, I'm following the crappy manual) says to store at 21-27 for four days after bottling, then store at "room temperature" for at least 2 weeks before drinking.
I live in an average sized 2 bedroom apartment on the ground floor and the temperature of the apartment seems to maintain a temperate between 20c and 25c in the current season (according to my cheap room thermometer).
Has anyone here got any advice/tips/techniques for my problem.

Cheers. :chug:

Try adding some steeped crystal malt, or steeped wheat malt (steep the wheat malt for an hour or so at 65 degrees then rinse it with some hot (70-80 degree) water). For instructions on steeping, check out www.howtobrew.com :)

I'd ignore that manual by the way, 21-27 is bullshit ;). Coopers yeast gives the best results between 20-24.

You need more dextrins :)

Easiest way to fix this is add some maltodextrin powder - 200g or so. This will also give the beer more body.

Ensure that your bottles are thoroughly rinsed before bottling. Any detergent/soap/oily residue will kill head retention.

20-25 is more than enough to carbonate the beer. The temperature isn't your problem.