Morgans Wheat Malt

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tcraig20

Reaction score
I got a tin of Morgans master blend wheat malt the other day for an extract brew the other day. Anyone got any idea what is actually in it? Is it pure wheat malt, wheat and barley, and does it contain any spec. malts like the others in the range?

Can't speak for the Morgans exactly as i've never used one, but quite often the Wheat Malt tins are a 60/40 wheat/barley mix (i think)

:icon_cheers: SJ

Can't speak for the Morgans exactly as i've never used one, but quite often the Wheat Malt tins are a 60/40 wheat/barley mix (i think)

Sounds right to me.

I checked the Morgan's website but there is no mention of a wheat malt? WTF

What are you planning to brew with this JimmyCraig?

Sounds right to me.

I checked the Morgan's website but there is no mention of a wheat malt? WTF

I used a tin of this a little while ago and I believe it's 100% wheat (what's the label say? Can't remember). It's pretty pale and gives good head like wheat malt :D

If in doubt use DME with ingredients fully listed, otherwise a 60/40 wheat/barley blend is OK

I too checked the website while typing my answer and couldn't find any details on it.

Thanks guys - I checked the morgans website first and got confused as well.

There is nothing on the tin at all to suggest what the ingredients are except 'wheat malt'. It doesnt really matter whether its pure wheat or not - I really just want to get a handle on whether there are crystal malts in there as well like some of the other tins in the series.

I would have brought a tin of coopers wheat malt and saved myself the hassle if the LHBS had any that wasnt nearly out of date.