making a BIAB set up out of a keg

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flymanor

Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I'm wanting to make a BIAB system out of a 50L keg. My plan is to cut the top, drill for ball valve and thermometer, and install a 2200watt s/s eletcric element in the bottom.
The local HB store expressed concerns about caramelisation of sugars on the element, but i would like to keep it electric as i can lag the keg and dont have to worry about gas supply.
What are your thoughts on this? It seems to work in theory but i am new to this art and dont want to invest in a inadequate set up.
My plan isnto use this as a HLT when i eventually go to 3V.

Thanks

No problems, many have gone down that route (including myself). I now use mine as a HLT also.

Is that element able to get 30ish litres of water up to a rolling boil?

sp0rk said:
Is that element able to get 30ish litres of water up to a rolling boil?
i hope so, i can put 2 in but would need 2 circuits, or a dedicated 15amp.

What have other people put in? gas seems the simplest option but will avoid it if i can

flymanor said:
i hope so, i can put 2 in but would need 2 circuits, or a dedicated 15amp.

What have other people put in? gas seems the simplest option but will avoid it if i can
I have done double batches with a 2200w element. Takes a while. I'll be buying an over the side element to help ramp it up to boiling.

I have 2 elements in mine, just run an extension lead to a separate circuit when it's time to boil.

Running a recirculating pump will also help with any scorching issues

A lil brown pump (under $30) will do the trick nicely

I'm planning on running one kettle element and one portable Induction stove simultaneously and I figure I'll just run the element from a different part of the house via a long extension cable.