Infected wheat beer... I think.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rossbaker

Reaction score
Hi guys, I think I have finally suffered my first infected batch. It was an all grain (biab) Weizen. If I had to guess, I would say it is an acetobacter infection based on the faint vinegar smell and taste and what I have read. There is also a fair bit of astringency and after a week in a corny the smell is just not right. The only thing that is confusing me is the fact that my extract weizens have often had a bit of a tang to them in the past, but not like this. Is there any chance that it could be due to something else like mash ph or temps? I am an all grain newbie.

I used Doc's Heferweizen recipe from the database, and fermented with wb06 at 22 deg. I was hoping it would improve, but I am just about ready to tip it. I am extra pissed about it though because I also kept 5l of the fermented beer to steep onto some blueberries. I haven't tasted that batch yet but I'm assuming it will be just as bad!

I'd suggest that you let someone else have a taste, see what they think before you tip it out.

Vinegar is never right but as above - have another smell/taste and get a second and even third opinion before ditching.
Also try and work out what may have gone wrong.

Thanks guys, I would be more than happy for anyone nearby Highett (Melbourne) to pop over and give me an opinion. Previously I have always found my wheat beers a bit tart and not particularly nice at first but they have really improved after a few months in the keg. Maybe this is a characteristic of wb06??