Inception Brew

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slcmorro

87 Warning Points. Bad Boy!
Reaction score
I'm trying a Galaxy/Galaxy brew - BB Galaxy with Galaxy Hops. Something ready for around NYE, nice and easy to drink in the hot weather.

I've never used Galaxy malt before, so after some suggestions/feedback on the below...

Inception Ale

4kg Galaxy
500gm Carapils
500gm Torrified

10gm Galaxy @ 60
60gm Galaxy @ 10

No Chill

Mash in at 55c for 10 mins, ramp to 65 and hold for 60 mins. Mashout at 78c.

US05 @ 18c
21L @ 70% yields 5.01% at 40.5 IBU

I wouldn't think so. I picked it up at the last FullPint BB. Labelled on their spreadsheet as BB Galaxy Pale.

slcmorro said:
I wouldn't think so. I picked it up at the last FullPint BB. Labelled on their spreadsheet as BB Galaxy Pale.
And it was special ordered in from the supplier, as we don't usually range BB malt.

slcmorro said:
I'm trying a Galaxy/Galaxy brew - BB Galaxy with Galaxy Hops. Something ready for around NYE, nice and easy to drink in the hot weather.

I've never used Galaxy malt before, so after some suggestions/feedback on the below...

Inception Ale

4kg Galaxy
500gm Carapils
500gm Torrified

10gm Galaxy @ 60
60gm Galaxy @ 10

No Chill

Mash in at 55c for 10 mins, ramp to 65 and hold for 60 mins. Mashout at 78c.

US05 @ 18c
21L @ 70% yields 5.01% at 40.5 IBU
Galaxy @ 60mins....... :huh: no chill....... :excl:

I have tried Galaxy @ 60m , then a brew @ 30m and another brew @ 20m.....all got astringencys/grassy/not good.

Took ages, like well over a month for that to mellow out and really wasnt pleasant. Best results without the astringency I have found is sub 10mins.

Feel free to try it but If it were me, Id be loading the kettle @ 10m with 35g and another 35g @ 5mins to get ~ 32ibu plus what the no chill adds.