I am new to home brewing please help

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bourtesy Cus

Reaction score
I am quite new to brewing and loving it after I drank my first 30 tallies In one week lol.. Much disgust to the swmbo... Anyway I have put down two brews tomorrow..One drama. I have bottled my last brews in pets which are $14 for 15 in my case I need 60 = $56 I think. I have 12 glass Tallies here and I can obtain 12 tallies at $2... My question is can I use pet caps on tallies or do I have to fork out the $49 to buy a bottle capper to save my brews. If that makes sense to anyone please help I'm on the Sunshine Coast qld

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

there are cheaper cappers available, though probably not as good, you and, only you can answer the question of "am I in thins for the long hall". Myself I keg most of my beer. but the couple of litres I have over from each batch goes into bottles and I love my bench capper almost as much as my young assistant who thinks it's a great toy ( 3year olds what can you do). Welcome to the family of brewers. Yes brewing your own is cheaper, but only if you take a longer term view. For myself I can say I did what I did to make beer for me, and my beer has made vast improvements as I have made my journey of improvements to knowledge, method and equipment. Believe me when I say: if at the start of this journey I'd had the coin and foresight to blow $3500 I'd be streets of where I am now. Quality equipment is the key

You can get a cheaper capper, the type you hit with a hammer. This is how I started out and it does the job. A bit slower than a capper and you need some kind of firm rubber to sit the bottles on so they don't break but it does the job.