Flip Top Bottles

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beerbom

Reaction score
Hi, my brother bought me a brand new box of "Mangrove Jack's Flip Top Bottles" from my local home brew shop.
I have never used Flip top bottles before. Only normal tallies, both PET and glass.
I sanitised and filled his brand new Flip Top Tallies with a new brew, added the usual 2 x Carbonation drops. Told him to let sit in a cool spot in his shed for a minimum of 2 x weeks, 4 weeks even better, then refrigerate and enjoy. He opened 1 after 3 weeks and said it was flat...
Has any one ever had issues with Flip Top Bottles sealing before...? I know the rubber can wear over time but these are brand new...
Cheers.

Depends how cool the spot he left them in was. They may not have been warm enough to carb up. Although I remember getting too many flatties using carb drops, so stopped using them.

I only use flip tops to bottle and rarely have an issue. Mine are a few years old, so the occasional flat one gets taken out of circulation or I replace the seal.

Depends how cool the spot he left them in was. They may not have been warm enough to carb up. Although I remember getting too many flatties using carb drops, so stopped using them.

I only use flip tops to bottle and rarely have an issue. Mine are a few years old, so the occasional flat one gets taken out of circulation or I replace the seal.
Thanks Drubbing, good to know. We're S/E qld so this time of year it's definitely not too cool in his downstairs laundry/storage area.
I intend to visit his place next week and test one for myself to see if it was just a one bottle issue...
Thanks for your reply.

User error is a distinct possibility. E.g. forgot to put carb drops in that one…

User error is a distinct possibility. E.g. forgot to put carb drops in that one…