How to step mash this Rye Robust Porter..

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeddog

Reaction score
I want to try my first step mash using the "Rye Robust Porter" recipe from the RecipeDB.

photo 1.JPG
I have sort of set up my brew rig using my old immersion chiller as a HERMS to do step mash manually in my HLT.

My HLT has 2x2200W elements and I have tried one for ramping and it has no a problem doing it.
My plate chiller is only there to give me an idea of what the temp is and will not be used when mashing. I'm thinking of a 16A kegking temp controller to control that one element for mashing.

My question is what temps should I uses to step mash this linky beer I'm trying to doing?

jeddog

I am not an expert at rye beers but I can give you some idea.

I would start at 50-55oC for 10-15 minutes, 63-640C for 60-70oC minutes then 70oC for 15 minutes. Sparge slowly 80-85oC (water temp).

Someone might have better hands on experience.

What result do you want?
Mashing low for 60 won't leave a lot for alpha amylase.
Depends how much body you want.
My understanding is that rye adds to mouthfeel but I've no experience with using it. Might want to look at beta-glucan rest if used in large amounts though.

The last time I tried to brew a thirty something percent Rye grain bill it ended up scorching the element and made the beer taste like burnt toast & ashtray. I since read a lot of other folks have experienced the same problem, and not doing a protein rest can help. (though not that I ever bother with step mashing) I would love to know how to avoid this other than go gas or reduce rye.

I've had a few successes with ----

Mash in @ 34.
42 for 20 min.
54 for 10 min.
66 for 30 min.
72 for 30 min.
Mash out @ 78.

I use gas not electric though so have no element problems in the boil.