Cutting The Top Off A Keg

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arsenewenger

Reaction score
Today I cut the lid off a Keg(legally purchased) to make my kettle.

I used many jigsaw blades and ruined many drill bits before I got the metal cutting blade on the angle grinder intos it and the used the nibbler to round it off a bit.

I work in a school property services dept so all the tools were not mine so I guess that why itried them all .

Now that question is how did anyone else cut theirs because i am sure that i still have not done it the esay way

Cheers
AW :p

I've use a cutting disc on a 100mm angle grinder and finish off with a grinding disc. Not a problem. I then coat the cut area with stainless steel cleaner (can't remember chemical) to promote the protective surface oxide.

An angle grinder doesn't come within cooee of a plasma cutter if you have access to one of those.

Scott

As Sah said angle grinder but used the new thin type cutting dics there about half the thickness of older type cutting wheels

use an angle grinder. it is difficult to get into the right position sometimes though. use a thin disc and it will chew threw it. let the disc do the work and wear PPE(ear muffs and eye protection)!!