Choosing a juice?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

D_Skee

Reaction score
HI erry body.

Im pretty new to homebrewing and i want to try a hard cider. I have read that i should just buy apple juice and dump yeast then let it go. But my question is what kind of juice? I want to use a juice that has ZERO preservatives Does anyone have a good store bought juice that makes a good cider?. Will i need to do anything to kill any natural yeast in the juice? if so what?

thanks in advance for helping me get my head around this

D-Skee

I'm also interested.

From what I'd read, ALDI had a suitable juice. Also, where are you located as it may change the availability of things?

I think I used Berri juice last time I made cider. Really easy, juice into fermenter, yeast into juice and ferment. You can add some spices etc, but this is a great way to start.

Any preservative free juice is suitable.

JD

Hey JD,
How did that turn out?
Was it just drinkable, actually kinda decent, or better than commercials? (& which commercials? - strongbow is not setting the bar very high!).
Not done a cider yet, but considering it over the next several months.
Thanks

Go for one of the freshly juiced ones. I wouldn't bother with the reconstituted stuff. You know how you get an apple juice from a juice bar and it tastes worlds better than a shop bought juice? Start with a good juice, finish with a good cider.

Much much much better still, juice some apples. The difference is astounding. Like the difference between K&K and AG. I'll never go back to bought juice for cider.

technobabble66 said:
Hey JD,
How did that turn out?
Was it just drinkable, actually kinda decent, or better than commercials? (& which commercials? - strongbow is not setting the bar very high!).
Not done a cider yet, but considering it over the next several months.