Newbie from Hobart.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ericlehtonen

Reaction score
Hi All, Thanks for having me in your Forum. My name is Eric and I live in beautiful Hobart. I am just starting out brewing apple cider. I have a 25lt carbouy, airlock, hydrometer, a couple of dozen 750ml brew bottles and some Oxyclean. For my first brew I obtained 16lt of freshly squeezed apple juice from one of our local apple orchards and have my first brew going.
I am keen to know more about cleaning and sanitising my equipment. My local brew shop sold me some Oxyclean. He told me to make a solution of this with warm water and leave it in the brewer for 24 hours and then empty and allow it to drain for 24 hours. No rinsing. He made no mention of sanitising.
I am now wanting to prepare my bottles for bottling. What is the best procedure for me to follow? Should I just use the above procedure for my bottles? Should I be rinsing after Oxyclean? Should I be sanitising? Should I have done something different with my brewer? Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Hi,
I would follow the same routine for the bottles. I haven't used Oxyclean before but if it's just Sodium Perc [like most] I would give it a good rinse in hot water. Ask your local brew shop for a no-rinse sanitiser.
A good way of finding info in this forum is to use google. For example search "aussiehomebrewer Oxyclean".

Hello Eric, welcome to the forum. Aside from apple cider, any other drinks you want to brew?

Hello Eric, welcome to the forum. Aside from apple cider, any other drinks you want to brew?