Changing The Method Of Sanitizing My Bottles

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thomfam

Reaction score
I have been brewing now for about 6 years. During that time I have always sanitized my plastic PET bottles using Sodium Metabisulphite. This has involved a quick rinse of the bottles in a mixture of 5+ litres of water and about 60gms of Sodium Meta and then letting them stand for 15 minutes or so before rinsing and drying. Over the six years I have only had one brew I have had to tip out (many years ago) so I reckon my methodology had been OK. However despite using the same mix and method, brews seem to differ a bit in taste and quality.

I thought I would change my sanitizing method away from Metabi and just use standard household bleach.

I always rinse bottles out several times as soon as they have been emptied. When dry the screw top goes back on and they sit until they are to be washed. I wash them and let them stand to drain before sanitizing them.

I thought I would try filling each bottle with a mix of 4ml of household bleach per litre of water or about 100mls of bleach per 23 litres. They would then stand and soak full of 'sanitizer' for 30 minutes. Later the bottles would be thoroughly rinsed in warm water to get rid of any left over chlorine smell and taste.

Searching the net brought up ranges from less bleach per litre (under 4ml per litre) up to 200mls per 23 litres. On the net one person said using too much bleach could result in a chlorine taste in the beer.

Is 4mls of bleach per litre of water a strong enough mix to effectively (and very cheaply) sanitize bottles prior to filling?